A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Which Side is Up? Front?


Down? Back? Does it really matter?  Not with this unique fashion of the jazz age.  Orbitius!   Brainy Zany!  Yes, I know.  That’s not the name of the lovely pattern.  But doesn’t it just sound awesome?

Wrapped Hat is a super quick and “unlock your creative genius” test knit for Anne aka al-fa.  The best thing about this cloche is the fit: chunky weight and super cozy.   The cute, sassy toque knits up quickly with large needles and looks amazing with MadelineTosh Vintage in Clematis or any aran-weight yarn.

Knit in a richly dyed, lustrous alpaca blend–top down, in one piece–this Brainy Zany cloche hat is a perfect companion to a winter outfit and waiting for the ride. Warm and stylish, the pattern would look good for showing off some chucky spinning experiments.

My 1st one–reversible piece–came out nearly perfect, weighs 96 grams (or 150 yards) in Debbie Stoller Alpaca Love, Peacock Feather colorway.

Pretty swirls and blocks of color (if choosing variegated yarn) are produced when you use short rows to create the top of this hat.  Totally geeky, super fun knit I have had in a long while. It’s rhythmic once you get a hang on the side-way, short-row cable and ribbing design element. It was way too addictive to put down after casting on. The result is so sophisticated and intricate.

I used smaller needles than called for since I have a tinier head than an average person. It’s still a tad big, but I think that works for this model.

First one took about three hours to make as I needed to comb through the pattern for possible correction, modification, and suggested clarity/flow. As written, it is appropriate for virtuoso, genius knitters–some challenges for fearless rookies, apprentices.  Such can change should Anne decide to incorporate some changes.

I say everyone should make at least one. Me? I made another one in Dusk (plum purple) after spending a full day of recovery…practically doing nothing but trying to clear my eyesight.

This time I hardly need the instruction. In about two hours, a perfect versatile cloche is born (weighs 95 grams or 148 yards.)  This will be one of my main birthday and Christmas presents to relatives and friends this year!

As a bonus, I learned a new name for the Wrap & Turn in short-rows used in the pattern–shadow wraps.  Very useful. I already put it in good use in my fair-isle knitting.

I have added Shadow Wraps tutorial along with other short-row methods–plain, yarn-over, double-stitch, and Japanese short-row to my tutorials/utilities resource page.  Check them out if you are looking to try something different.  What new technique have you acquired lately…and are happy with?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Which Side is Up? Front?" (4)

  1. I love this hat……is this pattern available?

  2. Anne Jacks said:

    Just came across this today on a pinterest board. I have the same question as Julianna does. Is the pattern available to purchase, download? It is so beautiful and I am totally smitten!

    • Thanks Anne. The Wrapped Hat pattern is online via Ravelry. Just click on Anne’s name or al-fa in bold print on my post. It will take you to Anne Lernout’s Designer page.

Leave a Reply

