A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Tangerine Tango


is the official Pantone color choice for 2012.  If you don’t believe me, Google it and see.  It is really a beautiful color, imho, and I found this Website with a tutorial for dyeing 100% wool this color with Kool Aid.  I’m dreaming of some odd combination…feather-light layers of organza and chiffon spilling over “techno-stretch” Bermuda shorts resembling cycling shorts to the layman’s eye, appeared under light tan Melton wool coats and jackets, tangerine chiffon V-neck gowns, and dark silk cape tops with necks enveloped in raccoon? (Yes, I am procrastinating. But, isn’t it a pretty color and combination?)

For now, I settled for dyeing up some wool-blend sock yarn in three out of five colors required for a pair of nature-themed socks.

First day, I ran out of the dyed.  So, today, I wound up more small skeins in my niddy-noddy and tied up with some cheapo acrylic threads properly.

I love beautiful things.  I love creating.   And I love the details!   Oh boy, don’t I?!   Hand-dyeing with food-based dyes is how I express it often!  This is another peek at some of the steps from my dyeing.  Every play is unique and greeted by joy and hope.

I lurve how the colors came out on both times–makes me salivate.

I love hand-dyeing because of the unexpected quality and unknown element.  The essence of handmade–a piece that is the reflection of me, its creator, and one that can never again be recreated exactly.

I am extremely proud of my 15-minute no-mess, four-step-dye system–similar to kettle dyeingbut less time-consuming with minimal fuss.  I have no real recipe, just keep mixing colors in a glass jar until I think it looks like what I am after.  Next, dunk in the yarn until it sucks up the color.  Then, I nuke it and burn my fingers because I never have the patience to wait…pick it up and take it outdoor to hang and dry. 😀  We should have a dyeing party!  What do you think?  How do you like them ocean blue?   This was taken in the night so its gradient sea hues weren’t truly represented…but enough that you get the picture. (The socks have turned heel already now.)

Have you over-dyed yarn or fabric? What’s your method? I love to hear your Knitta-Knatta!   (Picture below was taken over 3 years ago of my older daughter and her dear friends Chloe who is now in college and Peter!  They are all so grown up since then?!)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

