A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


With family, social commitments, workouts…plus more making up my daily routes, it feels more difficult than ever to slow down and take the time to appreciate the simple pleasures in life.  Doesn’t it?

The clutter in the closet and the never-ending to-do list make even days that should be relaxing–such as today–be filled with guilt at all the things I am not accomplishing. I keep telling myself that things don’t have to be so hectic all the time.  I know.  It’s time to evaluate what’s really important and scale back so I don’t feel overwhelmed by the things in my life. I need to re-learn how to have more fun, be more organized, and pare my life down to the things I really care about. Any good tips?

At last, here is the finished 12″ by 30″ prototype I named Peeking In and Out of the Window, reflecting my current frame of mind. Fitting, don’t you think?

The piece was inspired by one of the quilts in City Quilts. Window of a skyscraper becomes a block, the supports become the sashing. The freedom to design is open to anyone who takes the time to understand the components, structure, and construction of a quilt…and converting to a knitted piece.

Now that I’m getting a sense of gauge and drape, I’m ready to up-size it to a lap throw.

What’s your latest inspiration?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Leave a Reply

