A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Darkness Scares Me


I am a morning person.  Some days I think the light will just never come.

Sometimes the darkness does scare me.

I think this time of the year brings up a lot of feelings that I don’t really have to deal with in spring and summertime.  Deep seated feelings of sadness and even despair.  It is not often fashionable to talk about that. But I do think that there comes a time when I really do have to feel those things.  Really feel them, not dwell on them, but feel them, share them if I need to and then let them go.  There will always be more feelings that surface so long I am in this body, much like the peeling of an onion. It is a part of life.  Part of being human.  It helps to know that I am not alone. That others are feeling the same way.  Not because misery loves company, rather than we are all connected at a very deep level.  As I have the courage to heal myself, I may heal others as they do me.

There are many sadness going on right now in the world. And, you’d have to be ice cold, in some way, not be affected by them. This morning, I sat for awhile by the window sill and watched the sun rise, with a cup of tea and a warm blanket. It was a simple thing but I felt profound joy in doing it. I think that is what keeps me going. Somehow I am able through all the difficult times along this journey to find the joy in simple things.

I wish the same for you that today you are able to find JOY in simple things. Give yourself permission to feel. Do it with loving kindness. Being out with friends

and watching our kids build their bonds is the simplest and a wonderful pick-me-up.

Are you seeing spring as I have?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Darkness Scares Me" (2)

  1. Susan skinner said:

    beautiful thoughts. thank you for your courageous sharing

  2. Darkness used to scare me. When I was a wee girl, we went to air raid shelters, often in the middle of the night. No light was allowed, no reassuring face of my mother, of my brother and my grandmother, just silence and darkness. It took a long time to overcome this fear, but now darkness always holds the promise of light.

Leave a Reply

