A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Perfection


The Amish always put a mistake in their quilts as perfection is not only bad luck and God is only perfect.  This bad luck part always makes me feel okay about small mistakes, I guess it’s my way of cutting myself some slack. 😀

The thing I have come to learn:We all make mistakes.  Who the heck am I to think I am better than anyone else and should not make ANY mistakes?  How arrogant is that?  I have always wished I could go back in time and meet the gal who made up the thing about deliberate mistakes.  It is truly brilliant and must have enabled her to go to bed at a decent hour rather than to do the whole blame thing all over again…Mistakes are opportunities to learn and hidden treasures to be discovered.  Some mistakes just happen, like accidents.  A committment to improvement has become my standard, as opposed to a committment to perfection.

Nearly all my innovations and designs are the result of getting stuck somewhere I didn’t plan to be and looking around to see what this new situation is like before discarding it.  Cherishing mistakes is like traveling without a scheduled group–I get to see all sorts of vibrant, exciting people,  foods, and things I wouldn’t normally encounter.

So, I wish everyone a year full of promising mistakes!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Perfection" (4)

  1. I needed this tonight. I made a mistake in a scarf and trying to fix it sort of made it worse. But instead of ripping back, I decided to embrace it because really, I’m the only one who will notice it. It gives the project some character. And then I read this and I don’t really think I need to justify it at all. Thank you!

  2. Sarah, I so hear the message about allowing one’s self to make mistakes. In fact, I think it goes into a level of grace. It takes a person of grace , a graceful person, to let mistakes show and to apreciate others mistakes. Imperfection is what distinguishes, not perfection, so to allow imperfection is sublime. Well, it’s at least edearing. I keep telling myself this .

    SO , I hope you’re feeling good these days? I have been out of the blog hemisphere all week, and put down my knitting too, concentrating on getting together and spiffing up for a somewhat major event. I’m back, and I miss you ! I

  3. ps. and so if the ‘sparkle ‘ of the mistake is the trick of the Amish design (the capturing essence) then let the sparkle of mistakes be our own beauty.

  4. […] last, here is the finished 12″ by 30″ prototype I named Peeking In and Out of the Window, reflecting my current frame of mind. Fitting, don’t […]

Leave a Reply

