A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


with me today in anemone (uh-NEM-uh-nee) Wonderopolis.


‘The Florist’ from MORPHOLOGIC on Vimeo

Pure amazement. A body in hollow columns with a mouth and stinging tentacles at the top. I have always wondered…is sea anemone plant or animal? How does it eat? What are its symbiotic relationships? Anemone looks so much like a flower, yet, it’s actually a marine animal–named after the beautifully-colored anemone flower.

With no access to either form at the moment, I couldn’t resist to entertain myself with a knitted version.  I cast-on first time on Wednesday Knit-Up at Barnes & Noble and ended up ripping the whole thing out.  Not that it’s difficult.  I simply goofed, by distraction, on how deep the band should be.  Just to show you social knitting not always suitable for productivity, but, hugely fun though. LOL   Good thing I like it as head-wrap/band so next may be a band with a couple of rounds of dreadlocks on top edge…there is no mistake, just another opportunity 😀

The inspiration came from my long-time idol Cat Bordhi’s Anemone Hat.  Seeing my friend LeAnn’s (this and this) pretty much pushed me over the dark side LOL. Of course, my quirky re-engineering version isn’t as adorable as any of theirs.

I used Cat Bordhi’s Lotus Blossom moebius band, Barbara Walker’s Lambs’ Tail stitch, and how-to dreadlock by Annie Modesitt and Drew Emborsky.  Cast on 92 stitches for 3” brim (unstretched) in Washable Ewe (MC.)  Held Serenity Sock and MC together for crown for rest of hat.   Increased to 100 stitches and worked in Lamb’s Tail stitch.  Staggered over 5 3-round repeats.   Decreased as in standard hat to 5 stitches left.  On tip of crown, added three Lamb’s Tail as in Navajo method (amazing how knowing to spin, how yarn is made/plied helps my way of thinking in knitting) and secured/weaved in end.

The teal anemone used up 100 grams, or 242 yards, of  Washable Ewe in Dragonfly and Serenity Sock in Indigo.  I am very pleased with the way the DK weight turned out.

The hat is a touch smaller than ideal for even my petite head (I usually can wear a child’s large.)   I can wear it, but, really is more suitable for my 10-year-old as pictured.

Up-sizing the pattern was quite easy.  This one was made in worsted weight Patons Classic Wool (MC.)  The locks were paired with another superwash, variegated sock yarn.  I went for the moebius brim again but with a picot edging.

If I were to do it again, I would make the locks twice as long as I’ve done thus far.

Cast on 80 stitches for 5” brim (unstretched, 4.5 welts, measured on back side..)   Held sock yarn and (MC) together for rest of the hat.  Increased to 92 stitches and worked in Lamb’s Tail stitch, staggered over 5 3-round repeats. Decreased 2 sts to 90 sts before crown shaping. Did pairing decreases as in standard wedged hat to 5 stitches left.  I again finished it with three Lamb’s Tail on the tip of the peak and secured/weaved in end.  For a sturdier fabric, I hand-felted the hat slightly in the sink.  It is very complimentary to the latest finished pullover.

The sturdy dreadlocks (aka tendrils in anemone) went by quickly once I get the feel of them.  It is safe for a small child and less likely to catch on things.  One small drawback:  it ate up a good amount of yardage.  This plum heather anemone used up 110 grams, or 273 yards, of  feltable Patons Wool and Patons Kroy Sock Stripes in Mulberry.

Dreadlock tip:  I made the twists by turning the dreadlock to the right.   While placing a loop of lock back on needle, I slided twists up to the needle so the loop was snug.  Then pulled loops tight on needle before making final twirl to the left.  Pulled lock to the front and knitted the two stitches on top of the lock.

The whimsical hat–something everyone would love to wear to cheer him or herself up–whipped up in a couple of shakes of a lamb’s tail to make my cold winter days a bit more fun, assuming winter will eventually push its way here.   I sure had lots of smiles while making the twisty thingies!  It’s a perfect mobile project and can be so creative with different yarn choices to make some great looking dreadlock.   Making all these locks is downright addictive.

Love, love, love this hat!   I’m so ready to start a third.  How crazy a hat can be?   And the person in it, of course. 😀  I may leave off the moebius brim for a few of them.  Have you done a moebius?  If not, Cat’s Anemone Hat may just be what you need.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Dive into a Beautiful Deep-Sea Wonder" (4)

  1. Jen Eddington said:

    Hi really beautiful. Have you seen this work it is crochet but very cool.
    http://www.treehugger.com/culture/crochet-coral-reef.html
    Cheers Jen

    • Thank you Jen and for the link too, Jen. I love fiber art. A couple of years ago, one of my favorite yarn shop in Portland had a full display of knitted and crocheted aquarium critters for months in the window. I just love seeing them. Not here in the high desert yet. I think it’s overdue…just maybe…who knows. We may see one or two pop up somewhere LOL

  2. Julianna said:

    Very cute!!!!

    • Aren’t they? I love a treat to the aquarium to see the marine critters again…soon. The hats are a load of fun to make and to wear. I highly recommend everyone to at least try it once 😀

Leave a Reply

