A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


stylish, contemporary, and functional…in Slope Stylestarted out as mittens that became sleeves.

Another frighteningly clever piece of genius, garment construction by Connie Peng aka yellowcosmo.  A different way of working top-down, in round, with simultaneous set-in sleeves–unlike contiguous method–and sloped shoulders.  I chose to work completely seamlessly with no sewing, except for 2 buttons (which I haven’t done yet.)

Slope Style has an eminently simple foundation that’s easy to tailor for a perfect fit.  Length of body, sleeves, the couture finishing details–waist and back shaping, darted bust, placket buttons band–all are quite simple to execute and easily modified as shown in mine. It’s knitted in both worsted and fingering weight yarns.  I chose to Patons Classic Wool (3 balls of Royal Purple and .24 ball of Plum Heather) and MadelineTosh Light Merino–each of them comes in a spectrum of rich colors.   Thus, the possible combinations are endless!  Madelinetosh has rocked my world and I will so go back to this yarn!  Incredible and incredible colors to choose from.

If you hate, loathe, and detest seaming projects, Connie’s designs are therefore aimed just at people like you.  Slope Style just has way too many cute details to pass up.  It was such a fun and interesting knit and really couldn’t had turned out better…in spite of unplanned felting gently after tossing it in the dryer for 20 minutes to speed up drying time.

I really, really enjoyed knitting and seeing the garment emerged.  Love her designs!  The yarn lends itself well to a project of this kind, consisting of a lot of stockinette stitches.  The distinctive dye-lot difference in 3rd skein of Royal Purple (Violet) elevate the sweater to an eye-pleasing surprise.

My sleeve gauge is deliberately smaller than given because I like the fitted effect…so have been adapting size as I went along.  For detailed modifications, yardage, and measurements, read Slope Style Key Notes in PDF format.

I fangrrrl’d all over Connie when she put this flattering pattern up and she appeased me by asking if I’d test knit it. Well sure! I loved deciding about which two colors to use and hope that the purple sweater with the lime green sleeves would be adorable.  I’ve been amazingly monogamous with this sweater. It has everything I love about buttoned collar, cables, set-up sleeves…not so much of the miles of stockinette (me lack patience!) not a whole lot of brain work after the shoulders are built.

Love it, completely…living in it.  What can I say?  Cosy, comfortable and royal purple–these three words are the best way to describe this stylish project, one I highly recommend.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Serenity…Sweet Yet Powerful" (3)

  1. I am only beginning to grasp this ‘slope style’ which is completely seamless. Very impressed ! Sarah, you look like a knock out. 🙂

    • Yes, Jen, it’s seamless. You would enjoy the clever shoulder construction for sure. I luck out on the accidental felting 😀 Not sure about being a knock-out…in fact, there are a few unsightly spots that are pretty scary!! I am going to be more diligent in my daily exercises after this photo shoot! LOL

  2. […] regardless how many stitches in a round. Only time I had an issue with was knitting the sleeves here in a round with purling background, in fine gauge and tiny needles, I ended up with noticeable […]

Leave a Reply

