A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Facing Growth


One of my favorites in the winter is a bulb garden.  I love watching the new shoots burst forth from soil, grow, and bloom.  Tabletop bulb garden blooms earlier because it has been forced to do so–by a gardener chilling a planted bulb to simulate winter, then exposing it to warm to induce growth and flowering when desired.   As artist, I wonder how to apply this technique to force myself to grow too.

Good news.  I don’t need to chill myself to do it…lets hope not.  I need however, through challenges and experimentation, to induce personal growth.   These experiences will stretch my limits and allow me to grow.

I love trying new things and making discoveries, like a mad scientist of the art world.  I am happiest when learning a new technique or exploring a new medium.  I want to know everything about everything and love to find out answers to my “what if?”

Being an experimentalist often means becoming a beginner again.  That can be a frightening place.  It can also be an advantage.  When I approach a new skill or craft, I am ofen less critical of what I make than I might be otherwise.  When I am beginner, I’m able to turn down the voice of that inner critic and cut myself some slack.  Here is my first intricate lace piece knitted:

I ran out of the luscious, silky mohair blend yarn, two-third of the way, and have been hunting down a match ever since…disappointingly with no avail.  Just when I was finally ready to throw in the towel and to unravel the whole thing, a new idea was born–through brainstorming with a couple of my knitting peeps.

First, I need to unravel a full-repeat to record stitch-by-stitch the lace pattern, knit a portion again, then graft the live” stitches to  the provisional cast on edge.  With a simple makeover and slight blocking, the infinity lace scarf will morph into a highly fashionable, modern accessory to sport around in the winter months.

Have you any old project(s) that need reviving? What helps you decide when to rip or not…to let something or an old memory/hang-up go?  I wonder…

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Facing Growth" (2)

  1. I like the idea of being a mad scientist of the art world.

    Me, I’m an experimenter. Trial and error, rip and re-do. But I enjoy it, especially when I get the finished product that I envisioned at the start!

Leave a Reply

