A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

The Lost River Whychus


…and quilts.   Last night, Kristin and I were in for a fabric-licious treat at the guild.

Marjet Pajutee from the Forest Service talked about the Lost River Wychus and origins of the Quilt for Two Rivers Project.

Our arts community has often rallied to protect and enhance the spectacular rivers that run through Sisters, Oregon. Now, quilters are throwing in a stitch

participating in Quilt for Two Rivers, creating two quilt installationsone 40′ long with Whychus Creek running through it with second that will be made up of four panels–to help the good cause.

A sampling of the 20 quilts planned for the project was presented at the meeting, at The Stitchin’ Post.

Twenty one art quilts, featuring the single, vital connecting element–the water course of Whychus Creek, will be show-cased in two installations–one 40-foot long with Whychus Creek running through it and a second piece made up of four panels, each roughly four-foot tall, representing the creek too.

The Nuts and bolts ? The art project is a part of a partnership among Forest Service, National Forest Foundation (NFF), conservation organizations, and members of the community to raise awareness to public lands…the vital role of our Metolius River and Whychus Creek watersheds in Sisters, the broader Tale of Two Rivers.

Each quilt has a unique style and voice, artistically designed and created by individual quilter.

I am so inspired to go out to the designated Wild & Scenic part of Whychus Creek, maybe in spring, to seek inspiration…and sketch my next piece of fiber art. With a new trek installed recently by volunteers, it shouldn’t be too rough…I won’t be losing myself in the creek, I hope. 😀 I look forward to help bring the Tale of Two Rivers project to a new audience and a new constituency, not just quilters, knitters, spinners…but those who go to quilt and fiber shows, even to my homeschool community.

The installation will on on display at Black Butte Ranch in June, then Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show in July. Be sure to check them out if you are in the area. The quilts will be sold–half of the proceeds goes to the quilters and remaining half to National Forest Foundation. If I have the money, I would buy the whole installation! What do you think? Any suggestion for a candidate to acquire the whole art collaboration?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "The Lost River Whychus" (5)

  1. Wow. What an amazing effort!

    • Amazing, indeed. I thought of you, K, when I was seeing the work in progress up close. You would have enjoyed this from textile, design perspective. I can’t wait to see the next phase.

  2. I’m one of the co-organizers of the Quilt for Two Rivers Project and I really appreciate your wonderful post about the project! It truly is an inspiring bunch of artists working to benefit the stunning Whychus Creek in Sisters and I think you captured that in your blog. Thanks so much for helping us get the word out!

    • I am so glad to hear from you, Karly ‘cuz I have in mind to get our homeschool group out for a “painting in nature field” day and helping with clean up and tree-planting day for this wonderful restoration project. Since the weather has been so mild, I would like to set a day in March. Would you be the one to talk to? If not, would you give me the person I should contact? Have you seen my first take on the project in wool? It is in the recent post here. Is this something you/the organization would be interested? Regardless, I am moving forward as I really do love the concept from Quilt for Two Rivers. Thank you again for stopping by and saying hello, Karly.

  3. […] week’s preview of all the quilts-in-progress on the Quilt for Two Rivers left me speechless. Total […]

Leave a Reply

