A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Self Indulgence


Is there a place you go whenever you need to reconnect with yourself?

There are times when I feel life has become too loud, too insistent with errands and appointments that clutter my time up. It’s a cacophony that makes me want to retreat and find a quiet place where I may again hear the whispering of my soul.

Sleeves for Slope Style is moving at a snail pace.

It’s time to self indulge by spending a little time playing, producing just for my own pleasure. Yep…making comfort food–just how mum used to make for me when I was ill–brings me joy, especially when my 10-year-old sick boy likes it. 😀

What’s your favorite, mindless self indulgence?

There are only two ways to live your life.

One is as though nothing is a miracle.

The other is as though everything is a miracle.~~Albert Einstein

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Self Indulgence" (6)

  1. I don’t exactly have a certain place. When I feel I need to reconnect with myself, I like to go outside at night and stare into the sky. Think about everything, and just relax. Thats just me though haha.

    Ronald: Lifessteppingstone.com

    • My mind do wander when I am out on my hikes. When I lived in San Francisco Bay Area, I often drove to Berkeley and sit in a spot looking right over the bridge. The cityscape and lights were quite a sight–which I miss dearly. Stillness and silence in night sky do promote some sense of relief that is good for the soul. Thanks so much for sharing your special place, Ron.

  2. Dear Sarah, as always you have such profound questions and deep thoughts – and I love reading about your own opinions and ideas. Special places I can find anywhere, really. The title of my blog reflects this – life is truly a miracle designed for surprises around every corner. All we need to do is open our minds to see those surprises and places of comfort and healing, even in the worst of situations. When my husband was seriously sick with a stroke and we did not know what would happen, the birds in the tree in front of the hospital room window, the tree itself and the sky above it were a daily reminder that there might just be that tomorrow… as it was, miraculously.

    • I enjoy being in the natural surrounding…be it the mountains or by the water. Seeing new shoots, birds, creatures all around me ease my troubled mind. Seeing glorious sunrise, sunset, blue sky lifts me up instantly. Miracle indeed. I learn to seek miracle in my everyday living and am so thankful for you, my guardian angel. Having you around to send me gentle reminders, inspiring me, and cheering me on. You are my miracle, Ms. Laura.

  3. Sarah, today’s post touches me in a quiet place. I try to bend like a willow under stresses, or be as a duck and let them roll off of me as beads of water, but for quite some time now I’ve been more like gunpowder with even the smallest thing. Easily Overwhelmed is my middle name. I try to walk somewhere with Emma everyday and that really puts perspective on things, usually down a shady quiet leaf-cover’d private dirt road near my house… it’s the ‘place’ which fills me with awe .

    • Like you, I like the nature walk. No matter how distraught I may be, it’s very zen to be in the wilderness or by the water. Seeing the blue sky also brightens my mood. Hope you get out that “funk” very soon, Jen. I miss our “daily” chat 😀

Leave a Reply

