A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Being a Kid Today


can really suck (pardon me for the choice of word.)   There’s everything crappy we went through and then throw in a bunch more.  It isn’t always easy to be reminded of the wounds I once licked during those angst-filled formative years.

When my 10-year-old’s friends said he is weird (heard through the grapevine)…when they stopped inviting him to gatherings, my stomach balled-up in a familiar way.   I clenched my jaw so tightly it ached.

How is he weird?  ‘Cuz he is sweet?  Genuine?  Unpretentious? ‘Cuz he doesn’t join in a sport or activity his peers do?  “Cuz he isn’t an avid reader yet or a math/science wiz?  ‘Cuz he lives a child’s dream and be himself? Let’s face it, even when my child is typical, he still gets heat from others. So who cares? As a mom and, as much as I would want my son to play a stereotype sport or interest, I can’t change what he likes. I won’t. It is what it is. I remain in-tuned with that and loves and supports the same. Heck. Who says we have to conform to what others think we should be? I will continue to encourage my boy to live his life the way he feels it should be lived. Yeah, my sweet son!!!

Now back to craftingI’m curious about what people are working on? We all have our favorites…I love fiber, yarn, colorwork, cables, and lace intricacy. I’m currently working on a new design that is neither of these, though. The subtle variegation of the knitted fabric was a pleasant surprise, not planned, but delightful discovery under the sun 😀  Surprise is good!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Being a Kid Today" (2)

  1. Dear Sarah, I am so sorry for the situation your son is facing. I had the same experience as a child and so I feel with him. Tell him please that it always pays of to be and become oneself instead of pleasing somebody else.

    • Thanks for the comfort and encouragement. He is such a sweet boy and really doesn’t know what’s been going on among his so-called friends. I didn’t tell him about the fact he has been excluded to parties and events. What he doesn’t know doesn’t hurt him, right.

Leave a Reply

