A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Gong Hey Fat Choy. The Lunar New Year is here and the festivities for Chinese New Year are in full swing. It’s the Year of the Dragon. Dragon, a mythical combination of many animals, is one of the most popular symbol for Chinese New Year. It is also a symbol of goodness and good luck.

I love dragons and what it symbolizes even though I was not born in the Chinese Year of the Dragon! As a child, celebrating Chinese New Year with family was the happiest occasion and tradition.

It is a very cheery month…the time for people taking a break from work to get together with family and friends and also for people who are not longer living home to return back to their home. There were many things my mother did in Chinese New Year’s day, but, she’s never felt tired because it’s the most happy and jubilant day even for the adults or children.

There are many things about Chinese New Year and aspects of Chinese culture thoroughly excites me…the art, the food, and, of course, iconic plants such as miniature orange tree and kumquats. I just spent over 50 hours watching The Great Queen Seon Deok–first time from a Korean historian perspective.

Early Chinese history fascinates me. Although my ancestors couldn’t tell anyone exactly what an earthquake measured on the Richter scale (since the Richter scale wasn’t created until 1935,) they did invent the world’s first earthquake detector–a seismograph. Not only did imperial astronomer Chang Heng create a seismograph during the Han Dynasty (my all-time favorite of all the dynasties) in the early second century, he created a magnificently beautiful one. Ooooh, did I say how much I love Ancient Chinese history?!

Back to knitting front, there are many dragon scale patterned accessories out there in the blog-o-sphere. I especially love dragonflies…JRR Tolkien and CS Lewis too. I love that they were friends and Lewis wrote the Narnia Chronicles in response to Tolkien’s trilogy. I digress. This is the year where I will play, design, and make dragons. I really need too.

Instead of having a feast at home, we went to support hundreds of wonderful budding instrumentalists at the 2012 COMEA Honor Band Concert…just another amazing, stellar performance!

We need magic, and bliss, and power, myth, and celebration and religion in our lives
and music is a good way to encapsulate a lot of it.~~Jerry Garcia

Do you celebrate Chinese New Year or other family tradition? What do you do?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Wisdom, Strength, Benevolence, and Good Fortune" (5)

  1. The beautiful dragon! I can’t get over this creature, so beautiful yet so intimidating. Wish you the best!

    -Ronald: Lifessteppingstone.com

  2. Happy new year, Sarah! We celebrate Chinese New Year, Hanukkah, Christmas. Wishing you the best in this year of the Dragon!

    • Same to you too, Michele. I really miss the elaborate parade, my mom’s fest/authentic Chinese cooking–heer jai, moon cake with triple yokes…right about now :0( Wish we were in S.F…even Portland would do!

  3. I do not celebrate Chinese New Year, but I do know that I was born in the Year of the Rat. Figures πŸ™‚

    Best wishes for this year Sarah!

    • I am every bit of an ox, live my life like one for sure πŸ˜€ Thanks for the best wishes, Tammy. I sure miss my mom’s fest/cooking just about now :0(

Leave a Reply

