A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Rising Glory


Knitting is almost always better with friends.  The more the merrier.  Even one may be way more fun!   I heart my knitting group and count down the days of the week until it’s Thursday.  A couple of hours with good friends, yummy latte, and my knitting?

Ask me why I get so excited.  Love it.  It’s like therapy for me.  A stress release and a feeling of companionship being able to chat with others who are also as equally obsessed with crafty things as I am.  Heck, there’s even books and movies made solely about knit nights.  Women have been doing it for ages.  We can’t be that nutty, right?!  Feel free to hand me any pearls of wisdom.

I’m nearly at the finish line.  Actually…I did finish the draped collar vest on Monday while in the valley, but, was unable to wash and block it until I got home Tuesday morning.

I’m sad for it to end ‘cuz I’ve been having so much fun (from a pain…mountains of stockinette stitches.)  I should just knit myself one to keep 😀   Man, oh man.  Who would have thought I’d get emotionally attached?

Découverte \ day-ku-vɛʀt \ (french): discovered, discovery–designed by Julie Hoover–is a wonderful “very wearable” pattern.  Love this Swan Island Organic Merino, a super soft and squishy yarn!!  I felt like I was petting a soft little bunny the whole time I knit this sweater vest (yes, I know…there’s no angora content in it!)  Downright luscious and a joy to work with.   I’m thrilled for the opportunity to test out the yarn, available soon at Knit-Purl.  Seasmoke (as shown here) and Oatmeal are two of my favorite colorways, partially due to the added Alpaca fiber that are not in other colorways.

I’m in love with the yarn–not at all splitty–and the way how it knitted up.  Not a single knot was found in any of the hanks wound up. Sweet!

Julie’s pattern is very straightforward, nice, TV-watching knitting.  For the collar, I picked up 140 stitches instead of 164 as loosely instructed.   I also used a lot less yarn than the pattern calls for in the size I made (1056 yards versus 1375 yards for Size 35)…only 1 gram consumed off the 3rd hank.  Blocking is a breeze but it does take a few extra steps for the professional finish touch (which is provided in the pattern instruction.)

I have already worn the flattery sweater vest multiple times–before final wash and shaping–and have gotten lotsa compliments on it!  Now come to think of it, I should have shot one worn with a belt.  Don’t you think it’d be chic, completed with a pair of stylish black boots.  Believe it or not, the vest’s super super warm 😀  I’ll hopefully pick me up some in a couple of week.

Can we say LOVE!  What is your favorite sweater yarn and/or pattern?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Rising Glory" (9)

  1. Sarah, The vest is soooo nice! It fits you excellently! Hopefully you can have one for you 🙂
    Oh, and it is great you have your knitting group! I am still searching for mine (too few ladies knit in Switzerland, to find somebody of my age group +15 year is quite a challenge 🙂

    • Thanks, Laura. As for knitting group, I do know what you mean. I taught a friend to knit last summer. She has the same challenge living in Germany. I told her to just start a group of her own. It only takes one other to start one 😀 Where are you in Switzerland? There are Stitch-n-Bitch groups in Geneva, Zurich, Lausanne…just to name a few. Are you on Ravelry? If not, I highly recommend it. Once you are a member (free,) you may search groups in Switzerland that is close to you. Let me know if I can help in that area 😀

  2. Me encanta lo que estas tejiendo.
    Eva, Cancun, méxico.

  3. Beautiful item. I think my favorite yarn is Madeline Tosh, BMFA STR, oh sheesh, I might just LOVE ThEM All!

    • I love those too, especially MadelineTosh. But, have you seen and feel Fyberspates scrumptious yarn? Ooooooh my, they are heavenly soft 😀 Not that I am encouraging you to stash, oh no.

  4. That vest is very pretty! And versatile, too!

    • Thanks, Allison. The body knits up very quickly. The sleeves however are progressing at a very snail pace. I am dying to get this off the needles 😀

  5. […] knitted a sweater in its fingering weight (here) and absolutely loved it. I definitely recommend the cowl project for last-minute gifts.  Both […]

Leave a Reply

