A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Back into the Fold


of spinning. Each time I set foot inside Laura’s studio in Eugene, Oregon, I know instantly I will be in for a fiber-licious treat. I marvel at her hand-painted, hand-dyed, carded batts, handspun, knitted, woven, and crocheted garments…inspiration abounds right out the door of her fiber haven. Β (I finally took my dreamy John Westlake to the valley for a spin…and met her peers–Liz‘s and Monica’s.)

I enjoy watching what every spinner was working on, how each drafting her cloud-like fluff, adjusting her wheel…something wonderful happens when we get together. Although our specialized interests differed, we would soon exchanging helpful ideas, oooh-ing/aaaah-ing over each other’s creation, cheering one another on…sharing our passion for spinning and knitting gives me great joy!

Then it was over and time to hop back on the van and return to in-law’s home. Time at Laura‘s always passes lightning fast. But, I have my silky, yummy goodness to work through next couple of weeks–filled with fond memories of my brief visit.

Only wish I could get away every week to hang out at Textile a Mano, a dyed studio and local yarn shop–with Laura and all the fabulous spinners and knitters! Where’s your favorite hang-out? What do you do when you get together?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Back into the Fold" (4)

  1. I love the roving you’ve got here. I wish I could be one of the spinners you ‘hook up with ‘ πŸ˜‰ In fact, I haven’t taken out my wheel for a long time, nor been to any of the spinning meetings in my local group. Okay, its official, your post here has given me new vision.

  2. I forgot to mention *where* and *who* my group is. Okay, the Sonoma Spinners, who are a new group, non-guild style,
    and they alternate hosts once a month, however since I’m way out in the boonies, only once have I hosted a very small get-to-gether. I am going to make sure I go to the next gathering.

  3. Well, I was lucky to have been found on the internet in 2003 by a group of ladies that were avid cross stitchers at the time. Eventually the hostess whose home we invade almost every Wednesday took up assembling quilt tops. Then the hostess went to *horrors of horrors* a QUILT SHOW. And when she returned, she had purchased a long arm quilting machine. She now is a very talented long arm quilter, and most of our group has morphed into knitters as well as quilters. We are a very tight group of fun loving ladies. We have a week long vacation together in February at the North Bay Coast. No Hubbies, kids, or pets. Fine time is usually had by all. Last year I came down with a cold, and they all mothered me and made me feel a lot less miserable…..am not going this year, we plan to visit Portland in July so I can attend sock summit. Hubby will be watching our trailer with our two pups, can’t wait πŸ˜‰

    • Oh, Tammy. You are so blessed to have such a wonderful close-knit community/support system. My few close friends do get together at least once a month to craft, eat, drink, and laugh together. It was the mixed media art that brought me back to knitting after I moved to Oregon in late ’95. Boy, do I love to dabble. Have you been to Stitchin’ Post here in Sisters, OR, for the Outdoor Quilt Show in July? Let me know if/when you do. I’d love to get together and hang πŸ˜€ I haven’t been following Sock Summit…so it’s going to be annual now? If it’s like last year on the end of the month, I won’t be able to attend. My daughter’s intense music camp is on the same weekend! I love the first one I attended and still get the goosebumps about the experience each time I reminisce πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

