A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Inspiring Minds


…in Music. One of the great performances in high school wind ensemble took place earlier on the stage at the Hult Center for the Performing Arts, in Eugene, Oregon.

Summit High School’s 45-member band took first place in the State 5A Band Championships held at Oregon State University last May (right after performing at Carnegie Hall last April.) Today’s performance was thrilling. The band performed with such focus and clarity! Their dedication to preparation permitted them on stage to simply relax and “live in the musical moment.” I have enjoyed many wonderful moments with them in the last two years, but, today rates right there at the top. Hubby and I were glad we made it to the performance.

Music educators and adoring fans who were present in the room have been effusive in their praise of the performance by the Summit Winds. I hope the band members and my teen will treasure this memory as much as I will while I savor their accomplishment. (A professional recording of our performance will be available in February.) The kids are the talk of the band world in our state. I am very proud of their results and look forward, with great anticipation, to next performance.

Besides getting to an amazing performance, a long car-ride is wonderful to knitting a gazillion stitches–in plain stockinette–rows after rows.

It’s been months since I last visited the other hippie capitol of the world–and a college town, to boot! I can tell you I don’t miss the cold and wetness here…not one little bit. Most of us spend most of our time on daily routines, be it at work, studio, or school. Weekend becomes a precious time to enjoy with friends, family…or a me-time sounds nice too. What are you up to this weekend?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Inspiring Minds" (4)

  1. OMG… you must be SO PROUD !!!!! Your girl must work really really hard too. Hey, you can send your wetness here, because we’re nearly dry as a bone ! I fear a draught year. Hugs to you !

    • I truly am, Jen. She never ceases to amaze me with her sense of her musical ability and determination once she sets her mind to it–not natural to her yet she works hard. She picked up double french horn (with a couple of lessons) and guitar (self-taught, all on her own) last Fall. Flute is still her primary focus. Next performance is Honor Band this week–with intense rehearsals on Thursday and Friday, following by public concert. Not sure where all these will take her…I only wish her true happiness.

  2. … I mean drought . šŸ™‚

    • I hear you and thought the same too, Jen,…drought year. I love the freshness after rain. Yet, it was so cold over the weekend, I actually caught a flu yesterday and feel miserable right now–bundling up in woolly wonders and sipping hot honey tea…it snowed over the valley but not here in high desert apparently. This morning, my cul-de-sac is WHITE! It’s excited and welcoming sight to wake up to. But then, I have to have a vest modeled and photographed today and send it onward to the shop! This is the part I dislike about going off the long weekend, all the catching-up :0(

Leave a Reply

