A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

What History Was Made


in 2011?  I am not going to talk about Bin Laden’s death, disasters in Japan, The Arab Spring, EU fiscal crisis, U.S. economy, Penn State scandal, Gadhafi’s fall, U.S. Congress, Occupy Protests, or Congresswoman Gifford’s shooting.  Rather, it’s about a year of cables, a small fraction of knitwear I’ve made in 2011.  A picture’s worth a thousand words.

Some were test knits.  Some shop samples.  Some my own design. A few gifted or donated.  Why can’t I stand back and admire the things I have physically produced? It should be incredibly satisfying. Instead, one look at the photo montage, I felt a big let-down comparing it with my accomplishment in the year before.

Clearly, the rise of the internet–of blogging, YouTube–it’s much easier to learn knitting from a video than a book–Facebook, Twitter, handmade marketplaces such as Etsy, Pinterest, Ravelry…have contributed to the rise in knitting’s popularity since 2003. What fun is being had. The launch of Facebook pages has been mega for knitting too. Every knit and fiber shop, meet-up, knit-up entity I know now has a presence on Facebook. So, what new cabling skills/techniques have I added to my tool box in the last year? Was I over my cardigan flu? Besides a baby sweater for a charity, the only project I am proud of was the Owlie Tree of Life blanket I designed and knitted for a local fundraiser earlier in the year. Most stitches were excerpts of Japanese stitch dictionaries with slight modifications. Nothing extraordinary or impressive was made since then.

What am I doing about it? It will be different. I am already feeling the change by implementing the kanban system. Take a look of a modified St. Brigid. Don’t you just love it.

A quick list of changes I plan to incorporate in to my very first Starmore knitwear:

1) Swan Island, Brooklyn Tweed Loft, Elsebeth Lavold, or MadelineTosh Pashmina?
2) Needle Size 3 or 4?
3) Seamless to saddle shoulders/sleeves
4) Provisional Cast-on to add on Braided Hem later, no fringes.
5) Braided neck instead of turtleneck
6) A-line. Waist Shaping: Decrease every 4 or 6 rounds in the moss stitch pattern to 2 stitches then increase back up to original number of stitches
7) Sleeves two-at-a-time, in a round. Less increase on sleeves and keeps them tapered.
That’s a starter. More modifications as I go.

What do you think? A good plan? Any sound advice?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "What History Was Made" (5)

  1. Great knits. I was wondering, do you do this for fun? Or as a stress reliever? Or for a business?

    • Thanks, Ron. A dabble of all. I find comfort in the motion–with sticks and threads–while I am taxi-ing my children around every day. And it’s fun and entertaining to me especially when I learn a skill, technique, or a lesson from my trials. A lot of my creations was gifted to friends and families, some for charities, others for fundraisers to support causes I believe in. On the business end, I am learning web development to build a professional website for my design pattern publishing and/or sales of my knitwear. This has been one of my dreams that I am actively pursuing in 2012. Planning does take time and the progress is moving in a snail pace…then there’s unexpected distraction! I love people like you to keep me inspired, motivated, focused, and back on track when I derail 😀 Thank you for being here, Ron.

  2. Sarah, you are likely clueless about how you march forth way ahead of so many of us, in fact, you’re so determined to keep pace with yourself, you haven’t a chance to look back and the dozens (very much including me) who are following you , who are admiring you from afar, who wannabe like you, who try their hardest to try to even *imagine* what it is like to produce at the speed and agility which you do, who are cheering you on even harder. But you’re so far, so very far ahead, you only hear a dim glimmer of the cheering, don’t you? Love to my buddy xxJen

    ps. Oh, and epiphany has it that I need not complicate, as you so advised me… but to always, always, always realize how Less is More.

    • Clueless. That I truly am. You know what. I’m so glad to have you, my soul sista, to have my back covered, Jen! I am absolutely clueless. Clueless in a sense how exhausting my life sounds as you so describe and it isn’t too far-fetched. Less is more–my hubby’s motto, a phrase he says everyday to me, the kids, and his clients. I thank you for the gentle reminder 😀

  3. Looking more closely at your notes to modify StBrigid, I’m thinking about yarn first: are you working then from your stash? (Have you ever knit with VirtualYarns? I love the colors, they are exquisite, and really good value in my opinion, free shipping on orders over 40bux) I am not familiar with the yarns you mentioned, have seen MadelineTosh and Lavold, but not knitted with (wait, I did buy a Lavold yarn to knit those kilt hose which I did last summer, but returned and went with KnitPix (I’m a shameless fan of knitpix for my nieces) Ya gotta like Shetland though, it’s so light and fluffy, but oddly scratchy, but soft all the same, bizarre. Now, I love the A-line idea … so flattering and feminine and wont look so boxy, and you know, I think that decreasing (increasing) has become in high vogue for looks now… so the whole way a person decides to do the increasing makes it all that more appealing than a straight side…in my opinion. 🙂 Fringes? A.St*rmore hasn’t got fringes on the original, but I think your idea of the braid cable hem is delicious, repeating the neck the same way. (I use to think that there was a trick in making the knitting go that way, until I had a ‘duh’ moment recently and learned they are knit cables separate, then sewn on… um… right?) I think yes, the wider flared arms, to repeat the affect of the a-line body, though not decreased is just straigt-ish. Nice ! HOw about braided cuffs like hem and neck ??? What color???? I have a LIndsay Women’s kilt skirt to send you to wear with it if you like , in deep reds, greens, bluey purply…. can be overdyed, but it’s from Scotland. Yay.

Leave a Reply

