A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

What’s Your Job?


For years now, I have been struggling to answer the question. I wanted to say I’m an artist!badly. It seems like such a bold claim, especially, when I am neither producing much work nor selling much of it.  This made me feel vulnerable.  Typically, I would mumble an answer and hope the dialogue would change direction.

One day, while I was attempting to convince a friend she could call herself an artist, I realized then I should take my own advice.  My friend is visual and surrounded herself with beauty.  I see similar characteristics in me.  She feels happy and energized when creating.  So do I.

I realize now the word artist describes who I am and how I think, live, and dream.   I want to encourage not only myself but you to see yourself as others most likely do and claim the title.  I am backing up my claim by creating an artist’s badge (in progress.)

After the basic badge completed, I will embellish it with colors and objects I love.   Wont you make one too–original–just like you? 😀

Every child is an artist.  The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.~~Pablo Picasso

Check out my latest simple yet elegant wimple or smoke ring, modeled. I am most pleased how it turned out.  It may be worn by showing the right side or the wrong side. Both sides are absolutely beautiful and stunning! The neck warmer/hoodie is knit in the round with sweet textural lace pattern throughout. The sample here used two hanks of alpaca/silk/fine merino blend DK-weight yarn. It’s absolutely heavenly soft, luxurious next to skin. Only drawback is that there are some huge nupps in random spots–if you like hand-spun characteristics, this would be good. It will look fabulous in chunky yarn in the form of a skirt or cape. My friend Connie aka faeriesandpixies is working hard to make this pattern available soon.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "What’s Your Job?" (7)

  1. I love the blue top you are wearing with the cables! Did you knit that as well? If so, can you share the pattern?

    • Thanks, Eliza. It’s my Twilight Cabled Twisty Knots, a DROP free pattern. I made one in brown and this one. This one is my favorite. I ended up felting the hemline to give it a nice firm frame. I may do that to the button bands too. It’s been in the 60s here so the vest and light linen ensemble works perfectly.

  2. Sarah, you look wonderful in your blue and purple outfit! Both knits are soooo nice – the colors and the patterns! Really great work that fits you soooo well.

  3. Artful pursuits are part of your identity, and you make artful things, so you are an artist! I have no idea what “art” is. I’m reading “Art From Intuition” right now, and it would definitely define you as an artist. Very fun book, by the way!

    • Thanks for the encouraging affirmation, K. I will check out the book, maybe the library even has it 😀 Fun read is always welcome in my nook.

  4. […] it)…stretch slightly to set stitches. There will be another…this time maybe in gorgeous Arcadia yarn by The Fiber Company, soft around the neck and drapes like a dream. The only challenge is choosing […]

Leave a Reply

