A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


There will be small changes…over coming weeks.  Within me grows a garden.  When I was young–long ago–it grew wild.  It bloomed without any help or care.

Flowers of my garden were ideas and inspirations.  They grew abundantly and were beautiful as I took a look around and reminisced.   The soil in which they grew was made of my dreams.  As I grew, I picked these flowers without thought for future.  Then came a season, the flowers–that once grew wild–cease to grow and bloom, without warning.

Garden I see need care if I am to continue to grow.  My soil needs to be properly cultivated.  The inspirational seeds need to be sown.  When fresh new shoots of thoughts and ideas sprout, I must tend them carefully.  Like others, I don’t seem to know this instinctively.  I learn–through trial and error–how best to garden my plot.  I searched out other gardener artists, learn their methods, and when I can, apply them to my very own garden.  Books have been a wonderful way to share this knowledge.

If I give an artist a flower, she’s happy for a day.  Teach her to grow her own and she’ll be happy for a lifetime.

This year, I hope to fill my pages with projects, techniques, new skills I’ll be able to use again and again.  I long to see the inspirational seeds in the world around me, at home, my closet, my family and friends…even the view outside my window.

I want to identify and develop my personal imagery and style so I may use such techniques to create art that is uniquely mine.

My garden will be unique.  The soil, growing conditions, and the challenges I experience will be personal.  What I decide to plant, how I choose to fertilize or encourage growth and my design focus will all be unique to me.  There will never be another garden just like mine.

I hope you’ll feel inspired to clear the ground and dig in–while following the story of my garden, the tools, planting methods and design ideas I may discover or develop along the way.

I will look forward to seeing your garden thrive, bloom, and blossom.  May others see in your and my gardens the possibilities for their own.  I imagine a world filled with folks who have gardens of inspiration growing, blooming, and blossoming within them, a world of folks truly enjoying their own creative bloom.

While slowly nursing myself back to good health, I have listened a good share to (or dare I say, look at) Kenny all day long.

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/yRu-eAdZ050?version=3&hl=en_US

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "In the Spirit of a Fresh New Start" (4)

  1. Hear, hear Sarah! You inspire me everyday, so there’s not shortage of inspiration at your house. Here’s to a fabulous year!

    • I am so happy and inspired to see you, Kristin, expanding in your skill and techniques, launching your etsy store, and filling it up with beautiful handmade goodies this last year. It will be a great year of creating. I know you will keep me inspired and motivated 😀

  2. Sarah, this is such a beautiful metaphor you are using about garden! I think garden idea is a powerful message and contains lots and lots of inspiration for anything. Really anything. If I understand correctly – you are using it also for your health – if so – I am sure you will certainly succeed! Garden and nature have enormous powers on our psyche and subconscious where our true power resides.

    2 years ago my husband and I got to rent a small garden. We were happy and looking forward to work there. Little did we know how incredibly powerful garden metaphor will be for our lives, as well as for our work in leading growth seminars (that include fire walking, walk on broken glass and other unusual techniques). Sometimes during trainings we share some lessons that we compare with garden work. It is so impressive that even many months later people contact us and speak in the same garden metaphor that has made all the difference to them, so that they finally could go through the change and improvement process.

    I wish you all the very best in your garden journey. Above all – let it bring you lots and lots of joy! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging confirmation and sharing your personal experience. I too see it a powerful life metaphor. It’s amazing to hear how you apply it effectively in fire walking, treading on broken glass etc. May be I should re-think how I can use it to get over my fear of hiking up the buttes with narrow paths since my near-death car accident 7 years ago. When I wrote the garden post, it gave me a great chance to reflect. My sense of the divine, of beauty, of what lies beyond and remained unseen–yet how may I understand my spirituality as a garden? I ask what makes a garden. I can’t buy one. Nurseries don’t sell it ready-made. I have to grow it. Everything that grows–whether a huge tree or a fragile flower–starts off as a tiny seed hidden from view. What seeds have already come to life in me? What seeds remain hidden in me, waiting for the right moment? Is the condition now right for some more seed to start growing? Garden needs water and sunshine. These are gifts…I cannot simply buy or demand them, but, I may recognize and receive them. What provides water and sunshine for my garden of spirituality?? The love of a friend? Solitaire in a special place? Garden needs pollination by little critters and wind if they were to grow. So, with my spirituality, there must be movement…exchange…How does this happen for me? By talking and listening to friends? By taking part in a group? Garden involves preventing infection and attack to protect what is growing. This may be hard work and it doesn’t always go according to plan. What might damage the growth in me? What needs protecting and who may help me? Garden needs both cultivation and wildness. Garden that is too wild may not be too hospitable or practical. One which is too cultivated loses its connection with rawness of nature. What is the balance of my spirituality? How may I change it for the better? Gardening involve cutting back and taking out. Sometimes the action seems drastic and I wonder if I’ve gone too far. What needs pruning or shaping in me? Are there things I regret having cut out? I constantly reflect on what type of garden I am at this point in my life. A neglected garden–overgrown or healthily wild? A kitchen garden–full to overflowing, producing food for many? A formal garden–impressive, providing space for others? A suburban garden-–both beautiful and practical? A cottage garden–modest, but with potential for abundance? A secret garden–a place only known to me? Or another type of garden? I’m still unsure which of these make sense to me. I want to be hospitable, to bring people together. I want to take these fences down, but, I’m not sure I can.
      There is part of me which will be amazing when it flowers. I want to play and be full of joy. I was excited about one bit but then it got damaged. Some parts are not growing well, but I don’t know why. I am going to sort out this bit. While I have been preparing over last three years–that one day when I open my eyes, there will only be darkness–fear still comes over me. For now, I am living today as tomorrow will never come. Thank you again for your thoughtfulness and inspiring word of wisdom. I appreciate you and the motivating goodness you do share, Laura. Have a wonderful new year 😀

Leave a Reply

