A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Imperfecton


is beauty. (The finished shawls will have to wait, not today.)

This has been an interesting season. 2011 is almost over. I’ve spent much of it at home. I’ve worked on character training as I’ve helped the teens through adolescence, a time of both disorientation and discovery. I’ve cooked boatloads of squash and beef stews and hand-dyed a veritable mountain of fiber (while I left the laundry department with my hubby.)

This year, I’ve had more eyes rolled at you, stressed over family issues, and said prayers more times than I can count (more than usual on really bad days.) My heart has been broken when my children weren’t nice to one another or when older ones chose paths I didn’t approve of. I’ve cried over spilled juices and shattered dreams. I’ve received non-glowing progress reports and unfavorable prognoses…from the children–yep, not a typo. I’ve questioned myself daily as I struggle down this path of journey, raising my spirited children at home.

I’ve also enjoyed some bright, sunny days. I’ve held hands walking paths in the park and watched the sun glow golden through trees. I’ve giggled, laughed, cried, and lived life together. Not many saw. I did. I lay my life down. I worked hard at my task, my calling. No one else can do what I do. My family is counting on me.

Madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring. (Getting together with my knitterly friends, Christy, Kristin, Jewel, and Nancy at Dudley’s is never dull.)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Imperfecton" (4)

  1. Sarah, I can’t lurk anymore without writing to tell you that your blog is my new favorite! I am a longtime spinner, knitter and crafty person and I really enjoy reading about your life. Thank you so much for posting!

    PS, My favorite mitten/glove pattern is the garter stitch gloves from Spin Off in 2006, I think…the ones you knit back and forth from wrist to fingertip, as compared to round and round…I am on my umpteenth pair!

    PPS, if you are in Eugene for BSG 2012, come by and say “hi.” I live in the wool barn the whole time 😉

    • I have a friend who runs many marathons so did my husband in his younger days. I admired you all for your devotion, determination, and perseverance. Congratulation on a big accomplishment. Thank you so much for the shout out this morning, Eliza. My in-laws are in Springfield and Eugene and so I do spend quite a bit of time there. My hang-out when I make it there is Textiles a Mano for Wednesday Knit Night and Saturday Spin-In. Before that, I did get to a couple of knit-up at PC Market on Wednesday night. Maybe we will meet way before Black Sheep Again, thank you for keeping me company on my daily musing. Wishing you and your family a wonderful 2012, Eliza

      P.S. I knitted a pair of sideway garter mittens and do like it too. I plan to play with more of it.

  2. Happy new year!
    We give our children tools to succeed in life, but they must choose their own path. They may not choose the paths we would have chosen, but I think our kids will be happy!

    • Thanks, Michele, for the wisdom. It’s so true though, let them go where they want and they will be happy. Yet, it’s so hard for a mother ‘cuz the inner me can’t help to question “Will they be happy?”

Leave a Reply

