A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Sweetness


Every day, I am reminded how quickly time passes. My teens are capable of doing things on their own and don’t seem to want me around as much. I back off–giving them their space ‘cuz I want to be the COOL mom. The price? I am hurting deep inside by spending less time with them. Although they don’t admit it, my teens do need me to spend time with them. I try hard to make the most of our time together and keep it light. No grilling them about their friends or their behavior each time I plan my together time. I try to be a good listener. When my older teen initiates the time with me, I drop everything I am doing…no knitting, no chores, no computer.

Do you know how much you mean to me?
As you grow into what you will be.
You came from within, from just beneath my heart
it’s there you’ll always be though your own life will now start.
You’re growing so fast it sends me awhirl,
With misty eyes I ask, Where’s my little girl?
I know sometimes to you I seem harsh and so unfair,
But one day you will see, I taught you well because I care.
The next few years will so quickly fly,
With laughter and joy, mixed with a few tears to cry.
As you begin your growth to womanhood, this fact you must know,
You’ll always be my source of pride, no matter where you go.
You must stand up tall and proud, within you feel no fear,
For all you dreams and goals, sit before you very near.
With god’s love in your heart and the world by its tail,
You’ll always be my winner, and victory will prevail.
For you this poem was written, with help from above,
To tell you in a rhythm of your Mother’s heartfelt Love!
~~Kay Theese

An hour at the Jacuzzi with my older teen earlier tonight at the club was ultimate luxury.  Thank you, my bambino!  Here’s to more laughs and happy tears with my teens. It’s magnificent to have my family home…even though I’m under the weather…again.

Did you celebrate Boxing Day, primarily known as a shopping holiday? Not me. I was cleaning and attended to some last-minute finishing details to two shawls I finished up on Christmas Eve.

That’s my daily dose…lets chat again tomorrow.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Sweetness" (2)

  1. OH Sarah, this is so heartwrenching. I also have two nieces 9 and 12, preteen , who I am spotting those tell-tale signs of aloofness and it brings me back to when I was 13. I recall 13 being the worst year of my life, not because of the school peer pressure so much, but the scars I have from the compulsive cruelty I acted out toward my mother. She was a genius though, and didn’t seem to hold any grudges, and with a BA in psychology, she seemed the perfect teacher for me as I went through puberty. You maybe don’t feel prepared yet, to let your babies grow up, and I so feel for you, but each day your kindness helps them endure from their chaotic perspective, and they will be grown past this phase in the blink of an eye and remember fondly your resilience and love. You’re the best !

    • I thought of my teen years too, Jen, and had to laugh. I was such a rebel and my mom used to tell me how I will get ten-fold or more when I am a mom, have kids of my own! So true. Like yours, she’s a strong and wise woman. As much as I like to, I am not prepared to see my kids grow up, them flying in their wings and see their worlds. It’s awful, painstaking to see them hurt inside and I’m of no help to console and wish the pain away. They came to me and cuddled freely when they were younger. I miss that connection. I did have a talk with my older teen last week and was glad that she made some sound decision about spending Christmas with my in-laws in the valley (and yes it makes me happy when it’s resonated with mine!) The struggle I have with her is hormonal. She’s affected in a huge way. And the fact that she acts publicly that she’s rather spend time with a new friend, over her house all the time–and I mean all the time–hurts me. Getting the house clean so she can have friends over again is big on my list, right now. I see a bright, better days ahead…well into 2012 😀 Actually, it has been better already. My older teen seems to be more pleasant to be around. She is trying…at least I can tell she is. Thanks for your moral support and being my Jimmy Cricket, Jen. Your words are consoling.

Leave a Reply

