A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Seven Days…


Christmas is drawing near.  I’ve been working furiously on those last-minute projects, gifts and test-knits. There is little time to eat, sleep, let alone to photograph and write.  Hopefully, I’ll remember all the pertinent details by the time I get to all that I’ve made.  Just take my word…I’ve been creating 😀

Have you translated some small content–a sentence, even a word or two–from English into the most common languages, using online translator like Google or Yahoo?  Do you ever wonder how accurate it is?  Today, I was browsing for inspiration.  Isn’t this just lovely?

I truly appreciate its artistic creativity and professional presentation–use of vibrant color, gloss, smooth/clean line, and in silver.  I’m certain most people would never challenge the artist since such piece is valued as art, not literature. However, may I point out the factual meaning of the piece? The character this talented artist chosen to feature is only one part of the descriptive word:  clever.   Correct form of characters for courage is illustrated in the collage below.

Characters in circle, when written together, means courageous.  So you see.  The character featured in the pendant is like a prefix in English, incomplete meaning as stand-alone.  How can I change that? In today’s competitive economy, the need to globalize is clear.  How can I accomplish such without offending the very clients I am striving to impressThe quality of a translation and how it is specifically localized to a target region will have a tremendous impact on whether or not I gain traction in a marketplace.  What are the most common languages that are being used in fiber world?  Do you know the top ten, or even five?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Seven Days…" (2)

  1. Sarah, I can very well imagine the craziness you go through during these last days before Christmas to get all the gifts ready – the same here 🙂
    About Google etc translator services – well, the translations I get from English to my language when I apply it to what I have written in English – the result is rather funny. I want to show my creations to my mom, but seeing Google translations, I am sure that my mom would be more focused on laughing about the weird words and phrases than pay attention to my work 🙂 So I was thinking that probably the first introduction I should do in person and let her enjoy Google translator later on her own 🙂
    Wish you lots of energy and inspiration for gift making and enjoying this beautiful time!

  2. I have always wondered about t-shirts and earrings with characters that I can’t read — what would I really be saying to the world? Especially after visiting other countries with people wearing odd-sounding English phrases (or parts of) on their shirts!

Leave a Reply

