A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Halos of Hope


I was watching/listening to this amazing interview with Pam Haschke (aka Raveler HaloPrez) in regards to her journey with conquering cancer and the mission of Halos of Hope It got me thinking…

12 days…to Christmas, everyone is in the holiday crunch as we wind towards the close of the year.  You’ve gifts to buy, gatherings with friends and family, baking and cooking, plus stitching like a fiend to get all those last-minute hand-made gifts done!  I get it ‘cuz I am right there with you. (Shown below is a similar hat worn by a friend recently and had to make one.)

As I listened to Pam, I realized that New Years’ Day would be the perfect day to spend a little time thinking of others and crocheting a hat, two, or three. What do you usually do that day?  I typically sit in front of my in-laws’ TV–in the valley–watching The Tournament of Roses parade, live from Pasadena, California.  Why not spend that parade-watching time crocheting a hat to donate to Halos?

So, it’s decided.  That’s what I’m doing this New Years’ Day. This one took only more than half a day, much faster if I weren’t so stubborn in using various sizes of hooks (last two tiers in 1.9mm hook!) instead of decreasing in layers using larger hook throughout the project.

I’m making hats (at least two) to donate to Halos of Hope and do invite you to join me in the effort. I reckon many of you are abroad but encourage you to find a local hospital or cancer center in your community that would accept a hat or two and make one for donation.

Not sure where to look for a hat pattern? Here on Ravelry is a list of patterns with 556 complimentary crochet patterns for some inspiring ideas.

b

I can’t think of a better way to welcome 2012 than by taking a couple hours and making a hat for someone who is going through cancer. I hope you will join me in this.  Spread the words. Oh my…twelve days to Christmas…no time to chat…back to knitting only from stash! Come back tomorrow and I will reveal more about the duckling yellow hat then 😀

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Halos of Hope" (1)

  1. […] was a great day to refuel and be energized. Do you spy a hat? Why yes. You do. The duckling yellow has drastically transformed to welcoming, soothing hand-dyed lavender petals–Spring aromas […]

Leave a Reply

