A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Wooly Christmas Wish


After another low-traffic day of rummage sale, here’s my grand conclusion: Put the big stuff on consignment and give the rest to a good non-profit organization (in my case, Goodwill.) It makes for good karma and it helps those truly in need. Otherwise, you’re going to be haggled, harassed, and haggard by day’s end.

I’m no veteran garage saler. But, let me tell you…I know you don’t mark things up or expect to get what you paid for when you do these things. But when I tell you something costs $1, don’t try to drop it down to 10 cents. I’m just not gonna budge.

Years ago, I remember going to one garage sale where a middle-age lady priced her bedroom ensemble–an aging, yellowing pieces at the gross price of $2,000.  I couldn’t help but walked away laughing. That’s such bad Garage-Sale Etiquette. I don’t think she was hurting financially…merely was plum crazy. But I digress.

In the end, I made just enough money to cover the vendor fee and gas money…and perhaps a cavity or two from all that over-sweetened fudge I bought and ate from a vendor there.

Still, I was well-entertained.

and had fun unloading all the For Sale Santas, trees, and humongous ornament collection pretending to dress up our front lawn for the holiday season (even after giving away a bunch of stuff to kids and vendors there.)  I’m sure I reduced our property values even further and may have convinced a few more neighbors that I’m a little soft in the head. (Seriously, they don’t need any help to arrive to that decision :D)

All in all, it’s just not worth it.

I felt the same way after the last moving-sale back in 2005. It was more fun to shop other people’s tables than to man my own.

Plus, I had to invest two full days to just selling there without pay.

I’d rather sweep the streets…heck, count this my contribution to our 4H.

Here’s my new thinking: People love a bargain, but, not many people are going to pay for the gasoline, waste their valuable weekend time, or care to wade through my unwanted junk.

Yes, Central Oregon is hurting. It is teetering on the edge of bankruptcy as are many other suburban cities. But maybe we all feel like we have enough to get by. Adding a few more trinkets to the pile isn’t going to make anyone–or any city–feel any better.

It’s been a loooooong, exhausted weekend…both physically and mentally draining. I’m glad to be home and vegetate for a while.

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/GzxkNRvujiw?version=3&hl=en_US
and this is how…
http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/atj7sj2wz4I?version=3&hl=en_US

Now that I’ve ranted and raved, what does your heart desire? How was your weekend?


You want the truth, the answers to your questions.
For so long, you have been in the darkness and just want to understand.
Maybe the answer is right in front of you,
Maybe it’s hidden, but you’ll find it.
Or perhaps it’s been inside of you all this time,
you might just have to big a little deeper to find it.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Wooly Christmas Wish" (1)

  1. […] pendant or two for the girls out of this wonderful stash I scored, 25 cents a piece, at the Rummage Sale over the […]

Leave a Reply

