A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Feeling Downright Festive


As the most festive time of the year swells and percolates with lights, decorations, trees, wreaths and everything shining and glittering…The holiday season is officially in full swing. That can only mean one thing: holiday parties!

I can’t help but get in the spirit at my favorite quilt shop, Stitchin’ Post, fully stocked with wonderful stocking stuffers, perfect hostess gifts, pampering goodness to choose from…I know I was just here a week ago!

Last night’s no difference. Jean Wells and her loyal peeps filled the room with spontaneous fun

yummy potluck…my favorites were a shrimp chowder and Kristin‘s pomegranate salad…and wine since I wasn’t driving 😀 (Pardon me for the blurry vision!)

some wonderful show-n-tell

A jolly quilting trivia game, broken into six groups. Who would’ve thought we would be easily stumped on these scrabbled crazy-quilt words–interfacing and embellishment?  Our team did get them though after some serious head-scratching.

There were so much of great swap prizes to choose from. I picked out a very cool box of pins and a project bag pattern…and a load of absolutely, fabric-licious sample books home.

Oooooh, there are some gorgeous silk and linen in the pile that I can’t wait to give them some serious transformation!

Life is filled with emotions and passions, both good and bad; therefore, it’s my attitude that will make a difference. Getting out the home has been a bit of challenge of late but I’m glad I did this week. I’m thankful for my fiber buddy Kristin who is always willing and ready to drive 😀

And Jean Wells…who has brought many new dimensions to my life and quilting love. Her creativity and marketing ability has made Stitchin’ Post a destination place.

I have a variety of quilting designs kicking around in my head. But, when I finally get around to actually designing a quilt, I draw a blank. Sometimes I’m overwhelmed by fabric and surface design choices. Other times, I just don’t know where to start.

That’s when I turn to my friend Kristin, a textile artist with a strong sense of color and an eye for modern quilting designs, who has an easy system for jump starting her creativity. I hope, in a few weeks, to kick off a fresh new year of fabric fun, quilting journey. Won’t you join me? It doesn’t have to be something big. Poster-size would do.


Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

