A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Gluten Free Comfort


The change of seasons here is always centered around food.

With colder temperature, falling leaves, and Oregon sunshine autumn brings with it in mid-November,

I start craving hearty comfort foods such as roasts, homemade soups and stews, and fall and winter vegetables.

My favorite Everyday Menus are the menus I always have in mind for dinner in just a few minutes.  Here is one of many to help celebrate the season to my table.

Even my 10-year-old loves the kale and asked for seconds.  The secret? Midori dates.

And Shibui Balsamic Reduction, a nicely balanced syrup to use on vegetables, meats, berries, pasta, etc., from Krebsbach Fine Foods in Talent, Oregon.  It’s a tad pricey–$40 for this mushroom-shape 50ml bottle–I tell you, it’s so worth it.

Another quick and easy comfort food found on my dinner menu frequently is smoked beef sausage, sliced and sauteed, with a few onions. Then added small red potatoes quartered, carrots, lots of chopped cabbage, and a cup of apple cider. Simmered for about 1 hour or until vegetables are tender. A keeper for Gluten-Free followers. So is knitting and fiber.

The Piano Socks is all knit up based on Anne’s latest design; but, I am not stopping here just yet.

A full octave on the keyboard is so inviting, isn’t it?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Gluten Free Comfort" (4)

  1. You are just too much ! I love your cooking (agree that sometimes a single pricey ingredient makes the dish ! and, I am gung ho over kale myself resently, having planted so much of 3 varieties in my garden for the winter, nothing like walking down and snipping baby kale leaves for lunch or dinner, …. or breakfast shake !!!) I love your Octave Socks, but mostly, I love your attitude !!! 🙂

    • Have you tried Kale Chips? Oh mine…they are not only to-die-for, they are actually good for you and quick to make. Toss and lightly coat chopped leaves. Spread over a cookie sheet. Sprinkle with garlic and sea salt (I used high-quality sea salt like Himalayan Pink, Black Truffle, White Truffle, Alaea Hawaiian, Grey Sea Salt, Murray River, Fleur De Sel…) Put in the broiler for a few minutes until it’s crisper, brown. They appears very quickly.

      I finished an octave but not sure if I want to stop…thinking of a pair of knee hi…thanks to you and your recent kilt, Jen. LOL

  2. ps. Make that Two pricey incredible ingredients… I love , love, love dates !

    • But you don’t need a lot of either. Just a few swirl around the dish and 3 or 4 dates, coarsely chopped or just cut them to pieces with kitchen scissors. Both ingredients do go a long way. The balsamic sauce was a gift for my birthday back in April. Imagine it will last through next birthday…Of course, the mad-scientist in me want to play…am experimenting to duplicate such delectable elixir.

Leave a Reply

