A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

It’s Not How Long


you’ve been knitting, it’s what you’ve been knitting.  Sometimes, I wonder why folks who’ve been knitting for much longer than I (and sometimes almost as long as I’ve been alive) are still missing things from their knitting repertoire.

Why do some folks wait months or even over a year to move from learning the knit to purl stitch? I just don’t get it.

Now mind my own journey. It’s no secret that beanie–fitted or slouched–and I don’t get along, not one bit.

Last week, I played with a sea of Chemo hat ideas and ended up with this hand-made cloche with side draped pleats–applying traditional tailoring techniques.

The embellished outcome with Coordinates buttons by Moda was pleasing. So little does it take to create that flapping sardine of joy in my heart.

Glamorous? Stylish? Romantic? I feel it complements my choice in fashion and defines my individual style–always be playful, and of course, effortless.

I so enjoy the quality and versatility as I turn heads in my one-of-a-kind cloche (a girl can dream, right.) It keeps me warm, yet classy, and with an air of retro.

It’s made for a size medium 22″ head measurement, but, fits me comfortably–just the way I like…not too tight.

Being hand-draped and ruched, there will be no two cloches are ever exactly the same. What comes next? How the heck am I going to write the pattern instruction out! Excuse me while I ponder a solution. There is more math work awaiting…to reduce the design to a one-skein wonder.

And today flowed in an ordinary energy that I so welcome, leaving behind any traces of forced drama that had been visited upon my home.

Serenity is near. I can taste it.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "It’s Not How Long" (2)

  1. Yes, classy and perpetually young as is your spirit, so thus are your knits. All of them. Just the right amount of slouch, a nice casual yet perhaps dressy look. Love the buttons !!!

    • Thanks, Jen. You are always so encouraging. Were you a cheerleader in school? I do like it a lot but it still needs some tweaking, more ruch where the brim is according to my friend Myria who like her hat tight fit as beanies. .

Leave a Reply

