A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Love to be Alone


because alone is where I know myself and where I dream.

Today was a “me” day. I spent a bit of time in the kitchen…playing with my favorite ingredients (at the moment.)

ready for a long overdue Moms’ Night Out with a few great friends, amazingly creative minds.

They make me smile with their perspectives. (Can you tell I’m all about food…and these are only 1/2 on the home-cooked menu!)

They spin sweet tales or a new piece of art. (At long last, a five-some shot…thanks to the timer, picture-perfect ledge at Kristin’s new home, and my amazing running speed. :D)

I love reading these ladies’ thoughts each time we get together and look forward to our next.  Thank you, dear friends, for another fond, memorable evening.

Kristin, who is brilliant, enriches my mind with her endless creativity. Add her to your morning jaunt through the internet, you won’t be disappointed.

Some people seem to forget that I am actually a human woman with life and dream of my own before I had kids. I had hobbies before I had kids, gave up some while my kids are very young and need me 24/7.  As they get older and becoming more independent, I see a future of starting some of those hobbies and outside interests again.  Don’t get me wrong. My Children are the Light onto my Path. It is just amazing that so many people get all holier than thou when I talk about needing time away from my kids (which is rare) and wanting to have girls night out without kids. I was Sarah long before I was my S&S’s mom.  I intend to keep some part of that with me. My kids need time away from me as much as I need time away from them.  My justification?   It is good for them to develop a sense of self and that they are not just an extension of me.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with taking time to do something for myself even if it is just 5 minutes to read a book alone or spin in the bathroom.  It helps me keep my sanity and helps me feel like something other than the burp rag dishwashing, laundress, housekeeper, homeschooled mom that I am often tagged as.  I get great joy out of being mommy 24/7, yet, am extra thankful that my friends and family support me when I get one of those moments…in dire need of Me time.  My kids are a big part of my life, but, not my entire life.

I do have a few projects in the works, some half-baked ideas. None I can share at the moment.  Here is Ross and Cross, all smoothly shaped, blocked, and is drying…nicely if I say so myself.

This unfinished Vintage Crocheted Blanket is the last of three samples I have on my plate for my favorite shop in Portland. Yep…someone’s unfinished sample. Not sure why. I don’t ask question…

After 15 minutes of weaving the inevitable (for multiple blocks of color,) innumerable ends in, I decided there was an easy way with cleaner edges, better tension. I ripped out 90-gram of crocheting–in Berroco Comfort–and start anew. Not so painful.

And I even got excited to see the changes each time I stop and change yarn.

Do you join as you go, or prefer to weave in hundred ends when a project is finished?


Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Love to be Alone" (7)

  1. I’m really loving the sweater and it’s sweet little cuffs!

  2. What a fabulous group of women!! I am so blessed to have had the opportunity to meet you all. You shared with me your journey to homeschooling and it changed my life. Thank you!! 🙂

    • Likewise. You are such a giver and have made monumental contributions to the community while you were here. I’m sure you know this and be told by many…you’re sorely missed! Hope you will stop in from time to time with kiddos. I would so enjoy your company again 😀

  3. Kathy said:

    Is there a pattern for the afghan pictured above? If so where might I find it?

Leave a Reply

