A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Sheer Craziness


Weekdays blow past in such a hurry. I’ve been working on a bunch of stuff I’m really excited about but it isn’t the time to tell you about…for now.

Instead, let me show you some gorgeous Elsebeth Lavold’s Silky Wool, available at Twisted in Portland, for my next shop sample.

Soft, sweet…it reminds me of Brooklyn Tweed Shelter, but, in finer weight (DK versus worsted) and 20% cheaper in price ($12.50 versus $9.95 a hank.)

Have you been wondering what happened to the Tea Leaves cardigan?  Here it is…been a long time in coming…finished a week ago.

I meant to type this up sooner; but, it’s been sitting in my drafts, awaiting the right temperature…some photographs. Better late than never I guess.

Holy Moly…like this gathered scarf and the Citron shawl, the yoke seemed to take forevvvah…a lot of stitches on the ruched part! Eeck…a nice result in the end.

The cardigan is a top-down raglan and really quite simple. The gauge leaves room for a variety of yarn choices although for a nice medium-weight garment I used a worsted weight. LOVE the way this is knitting up. I am quite happy with the finish. This lovely squishy, squeezable yarn–MadelineTosh Merino–is SO pretty. Delicous! The Rose color makes me smile. :D) Lovely cardigan. It used all–1063 yards–but a gram (about 2 yards) of the five skein…PHEW!

I started the cardigan a week before and put in a couple of hours a day here and there. Super easy, fast, and fun knit.

Modification: I did have to make a minor change to the button bands. As shown next, I followed the pattern as is.

The buttonhole band is 1) too long, thus, unattractively flabby; and 2) buttonholes were on the bottom if done on Wrong Side as written. I even consciously tightened up the tension when knitting the bands in smaller-size needles as written. I did read over it three times and check other projects, but, can’t seem to find any errata before and after. As I went with my intuition and did the other side of the band, I picked up 4 stitches every 5 rows–instead of 3 stitches every 4 rows–plus created buttonholes on the right-side row. It was much better. Isn’t it amazing when a simple technique can produce just the cutest thing?!

I’ve been thinking a little about the projects and techniques that I’d like to try my hand at this year. While I have always been remaining an impulse knitter, I attempt to stick to lists generally end in dismal failure. There are still a few of things that I find my mind returning to. What are some of the techniques you are playing with?

Tis the season for another fiber retreat at my good friend’s ranch, starting tomorrow through Sunday. Only scheduled event is making a Dress Form at 2 pm on Saturday. The rest is free play. Do stop by and indulge if you are in town!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

