A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


to thrift stores. It’s true that the more affluent neighborhoods donate better quality items. Many times these items have very little damage and are just discarded because the homeowners no longer want them. Some of the best items are found at thrift stores that are located a few miles outside of major cities.

It takes persistence and time–neither abundant in my life every day. By the time Saturday rolls around, I’m too lazy to spend the day sorting through all the ‘junk’ to get a find. The only people I know who get good stuff are the ones who are at leisure to go multiple times a week.

Last week, I was lucky and went there twice–one with younger teen and another with older teen.

I scored the sweetest suede jacket (will be re-purposed, of course!)

silk scarves, bowls that are perfect for kid’s snacks, a few leather bags for knitting projects.

this 4″ tall vase that I couldn’t resist

a nice baby blanket and fair-isle sweater turned into seat covers severely needed.

the softest–possibly cashmere–gorgeous Polo Ralph Lauren wool coat

and a few silk blend, Pendleton wool, virgin Shetland wool sweaters (that aren’t pictured here.)

Have you ever wondered where the really good thrift stores are? Best vintage clothing shopping is in Los Angeles on Melrose Avenue at Slow and Aardvarks. I tend to gravitate towards clothing in cashmere, silk, linen, and fine wool and there is no shortage in thrift stores. One of the most beautiful kimonos was found there, scarves and more. If you go the week after Halloween, you will the best deals on crazy costumes.

Best yard sales in U.S…San Francisco. My friends bought amazing home decor and furniture! Coolest unusual find Vintage ’50s wool Eskimo-themed winter coat made in Alaska bought at a vintage clothing store called Moondance at the beach in St. Simons, GA.

There’s no golden rule to finding the best thrift stores. The inventory changes so much. However, I’m sure you can find a few that will yield great results if you care to look.  (Oh yeah…there will be finished knitting galore coming up next, I promise :D)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Nothing Beats Multiple and Frequent Visits" (2)

  1. Oh Sarah – It looks like you got some gorgeous turqoise Kotobuki bowls. I had two with purple interiors, but sadly broke them both at once. I love that purple leather (coach?) bag too. Take me shopping with you next time you go? ;-p

    • I have been quite lucky lately on my treasure finds. Or that I am just doing more thrift-shopping and getting better at what/where to look. Oh, I do love Kotobuki bowls and Japanese-made things. But these are just plain old imitation, I think I saw them at Target some time back.

Leave a Reply

