A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Luxury and Bliss


Some days she would fly with joy; other days she may be down and in despair.

Her parents, friends, and people in general love being around her So do I, my sweet Aspen.

What a happy time to spend with my dear friend whom I haven’t seen for nearly two years. She and I are so much alike…I want the same things she does for my children.

I want them to grow up to love and be loved, to follow their dreams, to find success.

Mostly, though, I want them to be happy. But just how much control do I have over my children’s happiness?

Evident from infancy, their temperaments come, at least partially, from their genes. That doesn’t mean their ultimate happiness is predetermined. Our genes are malleable and may be switched on or off depending on the environment.

In trying to create a home where the children’s happiness will flourish, I do hope mine will be happy, optimistic children regardless of genetic makeup.

To strength their capacity to experience joy, we spent the afternoon at McMenamins. It’s Aspen’s favorite pastime

Though wet and a bit blustery, we put our galoshes on and had fun mucking around.

Our experience at Angel Thai has always been excellent. Tonight was no difference. Unquestionably among the local finest with its surprising blend of hot, sweet and sour flavors, all in perfect balance. We were served a distinctive menu that boldly explodes on the palate. Just the perfect way to wrap up our brief visit and left us looking forward to the next get-together 😀

I realize I fail at this utterly…I do not have a life that is not connected to my children and can’t bring myself to go out most of the time and do things not in the service of them.

It’s funny, I know. I tried to fight it really hard at first; then, I found it easier to just roll with it. I’ll have plenty of time to go to an IMAX movie when they’re older and won’t be caught dead within a mile of me. I do things that everyone can do. Sometimes that does put limits on stuff; but, I find that–if we can’t all enjoy it–then none of us winds up enjoying it at all. And, doing things for the children puts me far outside my comfort zone…so often…that’s good for me too.

I am a parent, after all! I see no conflict with all the other things I am nor a need for creating separation when all happens pretty naturally over the course of their lives. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it 😀

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Luxury and Bliss" (3)

  1. […] had a great day despite a canceled hike last minute due to Aspen’s down for an unexpected nap! Disappointed? Yes…but that did not deter me from enjoying the […]

  2. […] handstitch in friendship, Life Tags: friendship, Life Aspen is happy about […]

  3. […] blouse once belonged to Aspen’s mom and gifted to my older teen before they moved to Wisconsin nearly two years […]

Leave a Reply

