A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Nurturing Creativity


Hope you locals/visitors made it out to Fall Festival today.

The art booths, live music, and loads of activities sure captivated audiences of all ages for the two-day festival and was a huge success…thank goodness the rain held out.

Fall is an excellent time to reconnect with members of the community.

The festival had a terrific line-up.

The spectators were great considering Bend is a relatively small town.

A rare treat for anyone interested in the humanities, arts and culture…and Upcycle.

Added yet another interesting layer to the festival for me was seeing in person Cynthia Lucas and Jenna Rose–the two NW Portland designer brains behind Bella Sisters.

I am so inspired by their Vintage textile creations and the amazing quality and special characteristics embellishments incorporated to their reclaimed cashmere/high quality wool clothings and re-designs of their upcycled making.

Look for The Bella Sisters line of jackets, sweaters, and new designs–made almost entirely from recycled materials–at First Thursday or Portland Saturday Market.

Another excitement for me was Flood Clothing‘s newest one-of-a-kind stylish hats made of upcycled tee and men’s polo shirts: New Style, Sun Drops, Neon Tropic, Heart of Gold, On Hold…just to name a few. Be sure to check out TheSteps Jacket, its latest clothing line. You may find Flood at Portland Saturday Market too.

Here meeting Ingrid Ostheller of Ingrid’s Creations was an added bonus.

Design is not an artifact.

It’s a process.

Talking to Ingrid is like attending a master class in creativity.

I love to decipher the nuances that make the imaginative/creative persona that she is.

Now comes the fiber art finale…Best of Jury winner Reiko Archer’s nuno felted, wearable-art scarves

and beautifully landscaped wall panels

by Rei Garden

Truly an inspirational weekend…hearing Patricia Bennett Wilson shared some of her blind Grammie’s music and tales…Imagine how the world could be, so very fine and happy together.

Never imagined how wonderful and wholesome this children’s book could be. The story is great alone or used with the CD that accompanies the book.

Thanks to my girls for getting me to the festival. So much fun. It was truly, madly, deeply amazing!

I really enjoyed myself at this festival–shopper’s delight with a plethora of unique world items for sale

and was glad I got to take part in one of Central Oregon’s long standing traditions.

Do you have a Fall Festival in your neck of the woods?

Did you embrace the vitality of Fall?  Most importantly, how do you make most use out of  all the newly acquired creative ideas?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Nurturing Creativity" (2)

  1. Susan Skinner said:

    I am so enjoying your fall fiber tours. I am getting ready to travel from the Canadian border to Rhinebeck for NYS Sheep and Wool and am feeling like a kid at Christmas time – I have giddy with anticipation.

    You continue to inspire me and help me set new boundaries to protect my time – thank you!

    P.S. I ordered Jazzknitting after seeing it here and have a lovely flock of peacocks to show for it.

    • Glad I was enabling, Susan LOL I’m so full of envies that you will be at Rhinebeck, the largest sheep/wool fest in the country!!!! Enjoy and I so look forward to hearing all about it 😀

Leave a Reply

