A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Taste the Color


I interrupt the regularly scheduled Spin-In Saturday in order to bring you the exclusive Merry Karma account of Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival 2011. So, grab a chair, your beverage of choice (or your spinning, knitting, or crocheting) and get ready for some pictures…

My morning was off (as it were) to a roaring start…with a fabulous aromatic cup of pressed coffee by LeAnn and me cooking up something simple yet delish for everyone. I was the designated cook for the weekend and brought the whole kitchen sink with me…literally 😀

Sunshine, fiber, spinners, knitters, and animals are everywhere. What a good day all around!

Wheeeeeee a…wow…there sure is a lot of yarn both inside and out!

It was unbearably hot in the buildings. All I wanted was staying under a tree/tent for shade…still fun to see some of our clan…

Something about all those critters, the spinning, the handspun, and the indie dyers. I don’t know. When I’m at a wool festival, I want to buy everything in sight. This year, I decided to mingle more than spending. I figured it was a good way to get to know people and really feel a part of the whole thing. I am very glad that I did and I will do it again.

I gotta tried out the new Schacht Sidekick at Carolina Homespun. For nearly $800–3 bobbins and a spinning wheel, I am not impressed. For another $900, I can have my dream Schacht 30″ Reeves which was sold shortly after it was assembled! (Sorry, no picture was taken.)

I came out onto the lawns bright and early and was totally overwhelmed with the vast array of treasure.

Spinning circles formed randomly, mostly wheels and some spindling…the next generation is all here, well represented.

Oregon Flock & Fiber Festival 2011

Men with wheels!

Little kids!

Then here are some fabulous two-week-old bobbin-lace en·thu·si·asts

I’m showing considerable restraint.

I got to sneak off a couple times to do some shopping and take a picture of some other shoppers. It was all fun and games…

Lots of fibres and yarns, spinners, weavers, all kinds of hands on projects related to the fibre arts.

This has always been one of the most striking aspects of the handspinning community, especially the art-inclined, spindle-happy, walk-on-the-wild-side crowd

If you’ve never been to OFFF, it’s an amazing event! I especially recommend visiting all the critters in the barn!

Here is this year’s raffle prize–beautiful antique wheel restored by Ron Antoine of Amity, Oregon, who can fix and replicate any spinning wheel part you ever need–sponsored by the Aurora Colony Handspinners Guild…again I didn’t win!

Besides the llamas,

there are many, many breeds of sheep and goats, and bunnies, and alpacas…here I was greeted by the smile of Marilyn and Morning Glory, eight-time champion

I was impressed by this sheep’s horns.

Wow. I love Shetland sheep. They’re so cute and full of personality. They love head and chin scratches.

Music to the ear

I love going through the animal barns and seeing all that fiber. It’s so therapeutic and pleasing. There was definitley a lot of them to see.

Thanks to Morgaine and her working bees at Carolina Homespun, book signing was going on with several authors. It was just happened to be right there in front of our camp site.

Here is my friend Michele signing her life away 😀

Check out Ilisha aka Jazzknitter’s fabulous peacock wrap and her trunk show in the background

I am soooo excited about OFFF. I love the animals. The Shetlands, Jacobs and of course the curly haired goats that look like they stepped out of a fairy tale. On my list of must haves next year is some Gotland. I have spun up some Shetland and I love it! It has a beautiful lustre. And a soft halo. More on this, another post, another day.

I spent most of the weekend chatting with Christine Thomas-Flitcroftat, one of three Invitational Artists this year at OFFF. Chris is truly amazing, kind, sweet, down-to-earth, and a wonderful teacher. The wheel shown below is brought back from Germany. The gal wants $400 for the decorative/non-functional antique.

It was another great day here at OFFF shopping, catching up with old friends, making new friends, and gathering fiber-y goodies. Can’t stop…I hung out with people I really like but don’t get to see nearly as often as I’d like. I was very glad to see my dear friend Kristin made the long-drive out from Bend even for a couple of hours. I bought delicious yarns that I’m thrilled to get to knit with and fiber to spin. I met amazing knitters and vendors that I wish I could have put in my purse and taken home with me. Every single person I met was super open and friendly. I had great conversations with vendors, felt like lifelong friends with spinners and knitters I’d met only 5 minutes before, and saw hand-spun and knitted stuff that were nothing short of art.

The weekend made me proud to call myself a spinner and knitter. Proud to be a part of such a caring, friendly, and creative community. Most of what I have to say about Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival involves variations on the following word: WOW. I’ve heard a lot of variations on the statement It’s so nice to be somewhere where I’m not the only one/where people understand/where I can talk about fleece and I don’t get looked at like I’ve grown another head! These are my people. Gotta scan and run. Too bad!! Wrap-up tomorrow…

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Taste the Color" (3)

  1. Thanks sarah for the wonderful pictures and fabulous writings of the event. I have only been to Oregon once for Cycle oregon but would love to come back, run the crater lake marathon and visit your fiber fest. It looks like yummy yarns but most important fab people of like minds. I sure can appreciate being able to meet someone and within 5 minutes feel a connection with them due to fiber arts!. Will await the rest of your story!

  2. I really enjoyed this post – great pictures!

  3. […] seems at least a little saddened to go back to their normal routines, with the excitement of OFFF behind us all, as nothing but a soon-to-be distant […]

Leave a Reply

