A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Swirl ’til You Drop


I was treading molasses whenever I could last week. Busy as a bee…Color of the Aura (aka Coat of Many Colors) is indeed finished, unblocked!

Slogged through over 100 rounds, 500+ stitches each.

The second swirl went unbelievably slow…seemed to take much longer to get through than my first.

There was a lot of stop-n-go…manually shoveling bunch-up stitches around frequently in each welt. In Sheer Beauty, the stitches just glided.

The finished swirl is heavy. It consumed over 1500 yards of my hand-painted/hand-dyed Lion Brand Superwash Cashmere Blend yarn.

I love the feel the the yarn–sweet to knit with–but not sure about how much cashmere is left after a few wear. Each time I handle it, more fuzzes I find. This is where I think it’s a result of knitting a lofty yarn in finer gauge…more to experiment on this line of thought process, fact finding. Maybe an experienced spinner/weaver would have an answer for me?

I digress…the swirl has been bathed, conditioned, shaped, and dried. I will be back with modeled posts over next few days. Meanwhile, Sandra’s insightful blocking tutorial is now available. I hope to read up on it in more detail when I am caught up here…apparently, the cleaning fairy didn’t come around my home in the last two weeks?! What gives?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Swirl ’til You Drop" (1)

  1. […] Colors of Aura had a delightful swirly tour over the Oregon Flock & Fiber Festival weekend, tried out by many […]

Leave a Reply

