A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Fiber Fun


everyday way to sneak in a little playtime in my day

at Pam’s…before heading out to the valley yesterday.

Hand painting or hand dying yarn or silk hankies is great fun and really easy.

You don’t need to use expensive dyes to get vibrant colors and lasting results. Affordable silk remnants may be found at thrift stores as often Amy got her treasures.

We’re readying ourselves for part two, where the real fun begins!

We all know I love color and that I love dyeing

but every time I try a new dyeing technique, I love it all even more!

This week’s experiment besides hand painting…Bunny and her first hand-painted rovings below

full submerging in a stockpot…Patricia and her experiments

I also played with a modified solar space-dyeing. It was mildly terrified to even think about dyeing these shiny and soft merino/bamboo sock yarn.

I got over the jitters and went to town with them.

It was by far the least messy dyeing process I’ve tried and it used little water.

Actually, it was so easy that I might even let the kiddos dye a skein this way.

Who knows what fun color choices they may come up with.

Best part of the day was to be among friends

Here is Shirley and all her ribbons from last week’s Crooked County Fair entries. Some of you might have seen her in the barn at Black Sheep Gathering recently.

and wonderful treat baked from scratch by Lynn. Life is good!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Fiber Fun" (5)

  1. What good fiber friends you have! I love the hankies–my kind of wild colors!

    • I do, indeed. And, yes, the hankies were amazing. She just fold the pieces up and dipped only the corners in one by one. The result…surprisingly pleasing 😀

  2. I too was thinking how blessed you are to have great fiber friends to share in your adventures and journey. If you ever organize a retreat , let me know…

    PS just curious but what do you do with all your dying adventures?They are lovely and my colorways>:.

    • Well…well a retreat. In fact, there is one in Spring over Oregon Coast. Want to come? The dyed yarn will be another swirl sweater I hope to cast on when I am over the coast for our annual family retreat 😀

  3. […] in the Dye Studio at Pam’s…I have been quite a busy bee today. My efforts (here and here) at dyeing […]

Leave a Reply

