A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Goddess of the Rainbow


Presenting Iris, a roomy, comfortable, and very structured-looking pair of socks.

lovely design by Rebecca aka Stitch-Sculptor. She uses a long repeat of twisted and cabled stitches. Though the patterns are written for medium sized feet girth, it is very accommodating to people with small feet with minor adjustment.

I tested out the 64-stitch version, 2-at-a-time, Magic loop with Addi Turbo 47″ circular needles. It’s heavenly.

I must say, this nice pattern is quite addictive πŸ˜€ Charts are very easy to read, cable turns are logical. The resting row between them is nice.

The fleege heel is wonderful alternative to short-row for comfort and perfect fitting. With small modification, this seamless textured design fits my feet snugly, just the way I like them πŸ˜€

It would go really fast if I wasn’t proof-reading both chart and line-by-line instructions and a couple of ripping back. To knit another pair now with all the clarity, it would take me about 10 hours. I am adding it to the holiday-knit list πŸ˜€

MODIFICATION:
1) I used smaller needles (2.0 mm) than recommended 2.5 mm mainly because of my petite feet (woman’s 5.5-6.)
2) Instead of increasing gusset stitches to 69, I did 52 stitches and it was perfect.
3) 2 more rounds of cuff (2″ in length)
4) Knitted 2 twist-knit stitches together in sole and instep on *last Round 22 repeat* to set up for 1×1 ribbed bind-off.
5) Replaced Sewn Bind-Off with Italian Bind-Off (tutorial here) for tidier/cleaner finish, my preference for ribbed borders.

6) Measurement: 9″ Foot Length/Heel-to-Cuff; 2″ Cuff

Yarn is Araucania Itata Solid Medium Blue (2004)–leftover from Mitaines Danseuse Fair Isle Mittens. Next pair, I’d use 1.5 to 1.75 mm needles for toe through heel turn, cuff, and solid-color yarn…2.0mm for leg section (Chart C.) The intricate cable details will show off cleaner and crispier. For longer leg, I would up needle size for second repeat of Chart C…may use 2.25 mm needles.

Rebecca’s twisted stitches and cables have a logical beginning that flows seamlessly into the foot/leg and terminates in a stunning and appropriate conclusion. You may see more of her published designs here.

Did ya know? Next project I’m castin’ on will make #51 finished knit of my 52in52-2011 Challenge!? 26348 yards, not counting unfinished projects. Will I stop knitting after that? That’s a million-dollar question!

Have a fabulous weekend…Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Goddess of the Rainbow" (2)

  1. Your socks are just beautiful πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Nathalie. I love knitting toe-up socks and cables really made this wonderful fit and knit up rather quickly. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

