A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

One Dish


…I’ve always wanted to create is a yellow curry. The mildest and the smoothest in my opinion. The yellow color comes from Indian curry powder or turmeric depending on the recipe you use. Popular with the veggi-nazi crowd. Our fall/winter one-pot-wonder stable. Everyone’s favorite, at least at my house.

As such, I have trawled the internet on many occasions in order to make my own spice mix. I endeavor to recreate my own. Now be prepared to fall in love, to be mesmerized, to be swept off your feet…this may be love at first bite 😀

INGREDIENTS
2 Garlic Cloves, finely chopped
1 Ginger, 1/2″ slice, finely chopped
1 Lemon Grass Stem, finely chopped
1 t Coriander Seeds
2 t Vegetable or Olive Oil
2 t Thai Red Curry Paste, the spicy part
1/2 t ground Turmeric
1 can Coconut Milk
2-3 Yukon Gold Potatoes, cut into 1″ cubes
1/2 C Vegetable or Chicken Stock
7 ounces Baby Spinach Leaves
Optional: Chicken, beef, shrimp, or halibut

DIRECTION
1. Crush coriander seeds, garlic, and lemon grass in a mortar with pestle until they form a smooth paste.
2. Heat oil in a large skillet. Stir in the spice paste and stir fry for 30 seconds. Now add the red curry paste, turmeric, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil.
3. Add potatoes, stock, and/or meat. Return to boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, for 12-15 minutes.
4. Stir in spinach and simmer until the leaves are wilted.

Keep it light on the vegetable stock if you don’t want the dish too soupy. Make sure you cut those potatoes into small pieces so they will cook all the way and not forever. Yellow curry is usually made with potatoes and onions. At times, I would toss in thinly sliced carrots.

My knitting is moving at a much slower pace due to proofreading/editing–both in chart and written form–at the same time…correcting errors…

If I didn’t have to sleep, can you imagine how much knitting I could get done?! That was my first thought when I read Twilight…those vampire people. Hopefully, this pair will be done tomorrow so I may cast on another.

Happy crafting…cooking…eating…and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "One Dish" (3)

  1. Sarah, my mouth is salivating at your curry, and well… at 6:15 a.m , and drinking my first cup of coffee, seems weird. 😉 That food looks “to die for” and I am a lover of this kind of food. Is Thai cooking your specialty? Hey, I have a kaffir lime in a pot on my porch, bought just for Thai cooking, and a few Thai cookbooks, but I find myself not cooking it. I think it’s because I’m surely an idiot, because think of what pleasures I’m causing myself to do without, and yet I *still* have a weight problem. My thinking is that I need to cook more seriously (once again) and stop eating thrown together food … and thank you over and over for reminding me how much The Art of Food transforms one’s life. Thank you.

  2. Thank you for what looks like a delicious and very doable recipe! I’m a curry lover and have difficulty with the spice mix thing… I hope to report back on how it goes.

    • This is our all-time favorite. I just picked up some fresh lemongrass at the farmer’s market so I can make more to freeze (if it even makes it to freeze, that is.) Look forward to your feedback, K.

Leave a Reply

