A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


While trying to help out a fella-test knitter last week, I realized I had mis-read part of the instruction just before joining in the round.  Though it didn’t affect the appearance or outcome, without hesitation, I ripped it back anyway.  At the same time, I switched to smaller circular needles for better fit after two cable pattern repeats.

It was back in the saddle in no time. Knit in the round, bottom up, two-at-a-time using my favorite magic loop method. However, it may be easily adapted to knit flat and seam if you prefer.

These legwarmers involve a relatively simple repetitive pattern that would be a great start for an intermediate knitter who likes to try a new cable stitch, or a advanced knitter who wants a fun, fast-moving project, perfect for dance, yoga, ice skating, and accessorizing.

Lenkse–another beauty designed by Andrea–is both fun and fast to knit. These legwarmers have a straight leg and slim fit–with slight flare on the bottom–creating soft folds at the ankles, much like my favorite pair of skinny jeans.

It is really comfy and will keep your legs toasty on those chilly morning walk.

A quick way to get some stylish warmth in later fall through winter months. I would rather wear them than an actual pair of pants on cold days!

I love cables, the more intricate the better. These whipped up in no time and look amazing. I’ll need to knit another pair to avoid both teen girls fighting over them!

My Lenkse used up 2.25 skeins (or 502 yards) of Patons Classic Wool in Aran colorway. I’m confident that it may be trimmed down to two skeins if I cast on and knitted the first two cable repeats in Size 7 needles too.

Since my teens are only 5’1″ and 5’3″, I only did 4 full repeats instead of five per pattern.

One last tiny modification was a twisted rip on the tights and Italian bind off instead of a sewn bind off…just personal preference.

I am giddy like a little kid on Christmas morning who just heard the sound of hooves and jingle bells on the rooftop!!! No chimney delivery…but delighted to have this wonderful pair of legwarmers off the needles.

Now, I am FINALLY be able to begin my next test knit. YAY! WaHOO! Yippee! Dance of joy!

Hubby and I played a round of tennis indoor this afternoon…and boy, was it HOT/HUMID like a sauna! Despite it all, we had a fabulous time. Playing tennis makes me happy. When I play, I can let go and forget about anything that has been on my mind. It’s a good escape from responsibilities. I enjoy the exercise I get from it…What do you do for exercise? What makes you happy?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "’80s favorites are back in vogue!" (2)

  1. THOSE I could wear everywhere. I’ll be needing warmth soon. Summer turns a quick corner here where we live… fall is short and then comes the chill.

Leave a Reply

