A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


ladies (and gentlemen.) Say such a thing and you might find that the universe has a couple tricks up its sleeve. So what did the universe do?

I didn’t plunge into an alternate world to defeat a big bad blah blah blah…or save my children, brothers, friends, or house pets.

Instead, I revisited 5th Street Market (16+ years later) in Eugene, Oregon, two-and-an-half-hour drive from home

One glance at Mindy’s captivating creations

and I’ve entered the realm where fairies dwell.

Land of Magical Dreams

Mindy’s one of a kind creations have the lustrous patina of age, but are completely fresh in their bright interpretations. With a fanciful dose of imagination, her work begs my appreciation for a gentle and tiny world filled with sweet sentiments.

I am entrenched in…RIBBONS…put a stripe of natural against a piece of Heirloom Batik 7/8″ Ribbon for a wonderful decorative effect

for kids’ braiding projects, applique/decoration work, drawstrings for simple gift bags, weaving projects, scrapbooking, bedding, etc.

THREADS

work wonderfully in my machine, even in my serger

holds up so well in my garments, and perfect for embroidered embellishment on a woven or felted cloth

BUTTONS

and WOOLLY

an Oz-like quality

I LOVE all things relating to sewing. Thread, patterns, fabric buttons, etc…If you are as fixated about them as I am, you wouldn’t want to miss Mindy’s when coming through town.

In fact, Mindy the talented fabric artist/owner is in New York currently.  I can’t wait to see what buttons

and threads she brings back!

First and last time I came to 5th Street Market was when I visited Oregon and met my hubby’s family for the first time 16-plus years ago. What a delightful venue.

The courtyard takes me back to some place far…

You know the vitality of feeling understood, encouraged and challenged?

When the stress of normal living gets me–or the hustle and bustle of the cities gets on to my nerves

getting away from the daily grind and totally immerse myself in this luxurious, peaceful, quiet, and tranquil setting for a couple of hours here

and surrender my senses to the cool, refreshing breeze

and soothing waves of the waterfall  is the best solution.

Simply imagine my relaxing and basking in the sun on the palm-fringed beach, or walk at my leisure during sunset to experience the beauty and charm of a secluded island

where people are charming, friendly, and gracious.

No other knitter came…but I was so in the moment

  • How do you select colors for your personal thread collection?
  •  Do you always match the color perfectly to your project?
  •  Do you ever use contrasting thread?
  •  Do you use the same color in the bobbin as the upper thread?
  •  What if a fabric has big areas of very different colors?
  •  Do you have any tips or suggestions about choosing thread?
  •  Can you show me a picture(s) of your thread collection?
  •  Do you ever buy thread because you fall in love with the color (without a particular project in mind)?
  •  Do you INVEST in thread?
  •  What types of thread do you have? (elastic, quilting, all-purpose, wool, etc.)

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Never Complain that You are Bored" (2)

  1. Wow, how beautiful! Very happy pictures. I’m so glad such a place exists.

Leave a Reply

