A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


in Sisters earlier this evening

You might not think a show of quilts would make your jaw drop. Think again.

I am addicted to color, fabric, and anyting to do with art quilting.

This is what I love about quilt shows. An evening with Jennifer KeltnerExecutive Editor of American Patchwork & Quilting–was not only entertaining as she shared a collection of quilts (which you will see their patterns in publication in the coming year)

and behind-the-scenes stories of what goes into the making of one of your favorite quilting magazines.

What Jennifer brings to the stage is not only fun, humorous, and amazing…but the way she engages with audiences is really something to behold. You can actually FEEL how genuine she is when she speaks…which is totally refreshing.

Jennifer has a quick wit and an enormous amount of knowledge that keeps you wanting to hear more. It’s comforting and reaffirming to know from her lecture that 1) I do not have a stash problem, rather a warehouse issue and 2) when shopping like I did today, I was researching LOL

Each dazzling quilt exhibit brings a new idea for a project

a new look for the delicious fabric we can buy

and friends walking in the street

The soaring space, simple color scheme

and ingenious patterns combine

to create a viewing experience of uncommon beauty.

What a wonderful quilting event. The organizers,

a parade of quilts of quilting celebrities,

photo opportunities,

and a horde of quilters and significant others beyond description, the Ladies from The Gees Bend…

were all outstanding.

I’m wiped out, but, it feels sooo good! Thanks Kristin, Tonya the unruly quilter, and JMBMommy for the laughter and a fun evening.

So…on to another knitting project: I am so excited to be working with ShibuiKnits Staccato and Silk Cloud again. More details on the project after the Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show…next week!

This much I do know: Life doesn’t get much better than this! Ta Ta for now. Tomorrow will be another loooong day.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Quilter’s Picnic in the Park" (5)

  1. northernnarratives said:

    What a beautiful blog. So glad I found you. Judy

  2. […] Kristin came knocking on the door at 6:40 a.m. and I was still in dreamland (totally exhausted from the event night […]

  3. […] to the detriment of other projects–Wish Me Luck and Sheer, Sheer Beauty. […]

  4. […] often find myself dreaming about my next sweater or lace shawl before I’m half done what’s on my needles. It’s about not living with what I […]

  5. […] and knitting along…my Sheer Beauty. […]

Leave a Reply

