A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


groovy!  I know not an antique but still…love fun and funky New Zealand-type wheels from the 70’s and 80’s. They have so much creativity and innovation.

Aside from it being gorgeous and of solid wood construction–I happen to be a sucker for old-school, tried-and-true simplicity…and the price is right! The Clemes & Clemes Modern Wheel is in need of some serious TLC before she starts to sing again.

No…the wheel isn’t very portable. But I already have plenty adorable little travel wheels–Pipy Wendy, WeePeggy, and Kromski Mazurka.) Frankly, I’ve been using my spindles much more. It’s very zen to be able to sit behind my wheels and settle into spinning, but I can move and spindle-spin as I please. I’ve found I can actually spin most singles a little faster on spindle than wheel. It’s nice to be able to butterfly up your work and change the CD-player…answer the door…or spin in the woods. Like knitting and crochet, nothing beats being able to take out something you enjoy to work on when you are forced to wait in line or in commute.

Wheels are not necessarily faster or more advanced than spindles. You can adjust a wheel to do many things; but, the infinite number of spindles, and the huge range of output each spindle has plus portability…well, I’m just glad I have both. 😀

This wheel is very easy to learn on. Sturdy, too. I like being able to treadle with both feet (although you may treadle with one foot if you’re so inclined.) I am partial to a single treadle, double-drive configuration. This new acquisition would be great for plying and creating honking big hanks of yarn..at least I am wishing.

As far as parts go, Clemes & Clemes is definitely still producing parts as one of the maidens is new. I love the Clemes & Clemes for a long time and almost bought one a year ago when I was visiting the Bay Area. Glad I waited! They weigh a ton, but, a nice modern wheel.

Donna Wright, who used to raise llama here in town many years ago, even threw in some gorgeous black llama/angora blend roving, over 9 ounces–by Susan Walker in Beaverton, Oregon–and an original copy of Handspinner’s Handbook by Bette Hochberg.

I need to replace the band with Strait-Line by Irwin (for plum lines)–polyester chalk line replacement string you get at hardware stores. It comes in 100-foot packages for a cheap price. I use it because it’s what Mr. Jensen recommends for all his wheels–and a Jensen Tina is another dream wheel I like to add to my flock! Another option is a cotton plumb line string from Home Depot. It is thicker then the poly and doesn’t stretch much. I sew mine then fray check the join so it doesn’t have much of a bump.

That said, in Popular Wheel Mechanics DVD, Judith MacKenzie talked a bit about drive bands. She suggests replacing your drive band more often than any of us do. It’s funny how alike we spinners can be. Don’t you want to get the very last bit of use out of a drive band too? I confess. I’m terrible about it. But I noticed a big difference in my spinning with a fresh band as opposed to an old one. Judith also talked about how the thickness of your drive band will make a huge difference in your spinning. The thicker the band, the thicker your singles. If you want real lace-weight yarn easily, change your drive band out to a thin one. Believe me…it does make an interesting difference.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

