A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Hands-On Inspiration


an event for spinners and true textile enthusiasts. There’s nothing quite like attending a sheep and wool show.

Summers here at my home are always a test of my endurance. At least that is how it feels to me.


Nonetheless, this summer is shaping up nicely.  Here at Black Sheep Gathering, you can talk to producers who raise fiber animals and artists who use the fibers in creative ways.  There’s always something for the whole family and it’s FREE! If you missed it, be sure to mark your calendar for next year.

It was a wonderful weekend, weatherwise and otherwise. The weather man came through with GREAT weather for this year’s “Gathering!”

As if this weren’t enough activity for one show, a Sheep to Shawl competition, my personal favorite, also took place on the Trade Show grounds.

Each team consisted of five spinners and a weaver, who worked on a pre-warped loom but wove with weft spun during the timed competition.

What a fiberlicious cloth, gorgeous in every way…color, texture, composition. Thanks for the inspiring eye candy!

Wish you all could have been there.

I left with a mind full of new ideas for my fiber pursuits/exploits and the hope of returning next year perhaps with my own creations in hand.

I can’t wait to spend my days playing and experimenting with every spare minute dedicated to dyeing, carding, blending, spinning, and knitting fibers from my forever growing stash enhancement!

Fiber artists must learn to embrace solitude in order to achieve their beauty to the universe. This is true for all those who wish to achieve something creative, no matter what the field; however, it does seem that those in the nonperforming arts require a degree of solitude that tends, at times, to weigh heavily, and can be most discouraging.

I find meeting and visiting other artists inspiring not just in terms of firing me to push forward with my own projects, but in helping me bear solitude. Every fiber artist I have ever met, it would seem, has helped me that way.

What are you working on? What have you finished? What type of fiber art do you do?

Post pictures as those will make me drool!



Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

