A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


in comfort with great fiber friends,

Fiber Friends

doing something that we all love.

I cannot tell you of the fun

and wicked sense of humor this wonderful bunch have brought to my day. Unfortunately, Kip was just leaving to be with her handsome grandson and daughter when I arrived.

Woohoo! I’m starting to get really psyched for all this and have finally figured out what I’ll be spinning

Speed clearly isn’t my top priority. Preparing fiber for spinning, then spinning it,

plying and finishing it,

measuring it,

choosing a project for it and then knitting it isn’t exactly the world’s fastest process.

Improving spinning motions and drafting and getting my yarn more consistent is rewarding.

I have sadly neglected my spinning wheels…just never seem to have the time to sit down and spin. When I do, it’s serene.

Interested in spinning?  I’d hate to see someone discouraged from a spinning wheel just because she does’t like or get the drop spindle. I think it’s just a matter of opinion and personal taste. I know of people who definitely prefer a drop spindle over a spinning wheel (sound familiar…like me?!) I say–try everthing at least once! It makes life so much more fun

I was totally worn out after spinning in the heat earlier in the day and am sort of laying low now. It’s no fun when the sun was beating down on us with no cover.

All I got accomplished today was cleaning out the room where I had my spinning stuff, made meals, played with the kids, gave massages to kids, consoled and put older teen to sleep,…and a little of this before running out of the first 80 yards of 2-ply hand-spun.

I am not quite finished with this spinning project but wanted to share this lovely, lovely stuff. I’d forgotten what fun lace work is. It’s taken me about two years to get to this level but it’s so worth all the fun and trials.

July is full steam ahead with fiber washing, dye-pots and baths, and color blending for spinning. I am getting VERY excited.


Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Taste of Spinning, Knitting…" (2)

  1. […] the lace shawl is still going. S-l-o-w-l-y…I worked approximately 6 rows earlier before getting interrupted. […]

  2. […] and I are enjoying some down time a little bit now before heading to bed. Below is the last of the Spring Romance batts spun and […]

Leave a Reply

