A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I often ponder my dad whom I’ve lost in early 80s and the role he played in my early life.  He wasn’t a good provider but a fearless disciplinarian.

If I did something bad, all my mom had to say was wait ’til your dad gets home tonight.  That in itself was plenty of punishment for the crime committed at that time.  Now I am old(er)…perhaps he was a wise man who was rather influential in my child’s years.  His strength.  His discipline.  His confidence.  Even his drinking, gambling, and smoking…it didn’t cost him a penny, yet, priceless to me to this day…they have changed my life and enabled me to grow into a person I hope he’d have been proud of.

If I never become anything more, I’m content to be his daughter.  If I do accomplish all that I want to in life, know that all the credit belongs to you, Dad, the very person who brought me to this world and molded me into the person I am today.  You have always been right about all the advice you gave me even though it angered me sometimes–it got me where I am right now.  Albeit the loss of all the photo albums, along with other family possessions in a robbery in the 80s, your image is engraved to my memory.  I miss you dearly.

Ten years later after my dad’s passing, I was blessed to meet my soul mate, my best friend.  Now can I spin a beautiful story about my squeeze…somehow, the truth always seems to come harder.

Fibers spilled across my space, painting a world of my creation– that, I can do.  But somehow it’s infinitely more difficult to put how much I love my hubby into words, to capture all the thoughts whirling around in my head and set them down for him to keep for eternity.  Words just aren’t good enough.  Happy Father’s Day!

And yes, I’ll felt these giants to size to keep you toasty, hon, even on 80-degree days this week 😀  That’s how much I LURVE U!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "To The Two Important Men" (2)

  1. […] post by handstitch This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. ← Unique Happy Daddy […]

  2. […] Next Finished Project is these frugal felted clogs for Father’s Day present. […]

Leave a Reply

