A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


“Education is when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get if you don’t.”–Pete Seeger, a folksinger once said.  I am definitely big on experience LOL   Here I am blithely started knitting without worrying about swatching (bottom-up)

My completed swatch can be just that–a swatch–or it may become something more…a 2-year-old top-down, raglan pullover.

Gauge is critical to the fit of a garment.  Through this child’s play, I hopefully will gain comfortably 1) the number of stitches and rows to a 4″ swatch, 2) familiarity to the stitch patterns (in this case two,) and 3) blockingout cotton and various new yarns acquired in my stash (linen, silk, hemp…etc.) for final knitwear design.

Word of advice:  Be sure to take several measurements from different places on your swatch.  If your gauge changes depending on where you measure, practice circular knitting until you keep an even tension all around, then do another swatch.

Gauge is my friend…but I do have to negotiate until I, my yarn, my needles, and my design pattern have reached an agreement. Then I’m ready to get down to serious business!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Swatch In…Aran Cable and Lace" (1)

  1. […] took a little time off this evening to relax and rejuvenate (since I ran out of yarn to finish the Aran Cable & Lace prototype.) I don’t think I took enough time, but, am planning/hoping that next two weeks will be […]

Leave a Reply

