A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I go through different phases where I’ll focus on one or two techniques at a time. It’s been a long while since I made anything modular of substance…time to do it, right?!

Inspired by Mitered Crosses Blanket–for Japan in Mason-Dixon Knitting Blog, my first finished replicate of a traditional 9-patch quilt design, mitered square, using variations of flying geese, all garter stitch, no sewing.

Not perfect, but, I’m quite happy with the initial 18″ square. I rather like the small project feeling of doing the mitered squares and later triangle strips. This made it fairly portable right up until I put all together and adding borders. Color/layout details are still being tweaked, fine-tuned on paper. I may flip through my favorite Horst Schultz’s Patchwork Knitting and Patchwork Knitting: Fashions for Children for inspiration. Both, predate Mason Dixon and much richer in ideas, are worth tracking down!

The modular afghan features a beautiful way to use up spare ends, 1/4 balls, mismatched, misfit balls of yarn…make it into a gorgeous knitted quilt! It may be knitted with fingering, sport/DK, and worsted weight yarns for any-size blanket that you wish to make.

It’s all knit so I don’t have to worry about anything too complicated. Seams will be accomplished without darning needle…applying Japanese bind-off or Kirsten’s clever zippering technique. I love modular knitting. It feels like I may just go, go, go when I’m knitting it…like I’ve got serious knitting mojo! Why do you like modular knitting? Do you find that, when you start a modular project, you work straight through till it’s done? I will work consistently for a day or three. Then, I grow bored and put it aside, like a shell jacket I was working on for about 2 years?!

Anyway, it was a perfect day

to show off the brioche Newsprint Cowl finished over the weekend.





Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "The Geese, They Are A-Flyin’" (3)

  1. Kirsten said:

    Lovely modules! Every time I see the African Adventure projects I wonder why I haven’t started one myself. I think I just don’t know what to make them into–sweater? vest? purse? I just need to get a-going on it.

  2. […] Second replicate is just as fun as the first […]

  3. Sarah, great photographs of such magnificent knits – you are SO talented! Are you also knitting at night in your sleep? I keep being amazed by the speed you present all those beautiful projects!

Leave a Reply

