A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Deliriously Happy


Knitting is good for my prefrontal cortex. Doing activities that use both of my hands to complete helps stimulate the brain, helps avoid alzheimers, and helps me deal with stress.

It takes cleverness, adaptability,

intelligence, critical thinking and analysis to be able to suss out many a knitting pattern, all qualities that (in my estimation) make knitters at least a wee smarter than the average person.

Do you have well-meaning relatives who suggest you curb your addiction?  If so, just tell them I use it to exercise my prefrontal cortex.   They’ll never know what hit ’em!

I sort of have ADD when it comes to art and crafting. I love to learn new things and expand my repertoire mostly because I get bored easily with the same thing. My skills have expanded so much since I joined Ravelry and seen things I’d never have otherwise. Brioche knitting is a good example. Such cloth makes the best kind of fabric. They’re stretchy enough that they’re not like washing with a piece of cardboard. They breathe well for better drying, but, keep their shape nicely.

It is an easy way to knit colors without carrying thread.  Eyeballing no more…it truly is easy once you get the hang of it. I would describe it as a kind of 3 dimensional linen stitch–there are lots of k1, slip 1, yo’s where sometimes the yarn is held in front before you slip the stitch.

One thing I’ve noticed is several people having had problems with the yarn forwards/yarn overs but nobody else seeming to see them the way I do. I started out with one-color and considered the yarn forwards/yarn overs in much the same way that I would in regular knitting. However, when I began my first two-color brioche project I had a perceptual shift that helped make everything click for me. In regular knitting, when I slip a stitch, I carry the working yarn behind or in front of the stitch, depending on whether carried yarn is to be a part of the pattern or hidden away. In brioche, especially in reversible projects, I can’t carry the working yarn this way because it obscures the stitch pattern and ruins the fabric reversibility. Part of my mental switchover from learning to got it! was that I realized I had quit thinking in terms of yarn forward or yarn over and started thinking of this part of the pattern as “hiding” the working yarn by carrying it over the needle instead of behind or in front of the slipped stitch, with a rule of the carried yarn needs to pass diagonally across the slipped stitch so it’s easy to knit the two together on next row.  This is just a perception that has made brioche much simpler for me to work (and to stitch-read.) Hopefully, it will prove helpful to my fellow brioche newbies.

Continental knitters…you may experience a hard time because the way a yarn over performed for a ‘picker’ is functionally different than that of a ‘thrower’. The idea of bringing yarn forward without actually making a yarn over is just bizarre to a ‘picker’. You just have to retrain yourself with making the right motions, both with the yarn overs and how they are knit together with other stitches.

Actually Brioche doesn’t have to use two strands or two colors…It’s done with two colors to create a really spiffy effect but unnecessary. Brioche is a ribbed pattern stitch. It creates a fluffy fabric and uses twice as much yarn as usual. Have you seen those brioche socks? An interesting concept. They’d be thick socks so I’d have to go with super thin yarn or get bigger shoes. {wry grin}

You might want to try out Nancy Marchant’s tutorials and first do the simple brioche stitch pattern before adding in a cable. This was the main reference I used when I did two-color brioche. Have you ever done Brioche?

Just try the stitch like described in the link I posted above, with 10 stitches maybe, knit in brioche until you got the stitch, call that piece a swatch, measure the width, decide the width of the scarf you like to make and calculate how many stitches you´ll need for that width based on your 10 stitch swatch piece. Cast on that number of stitches, knit until you either run out of yarn or get sick of it, bind off and tie on the fringe. Done. Voila, you´ve made up your first pattern 😀

Knitting is for spare time…like car rides and while watching movies with the family. I’m done with Newsprint Cowl-in fabulous, squishy soft Madelinetosh Tosh Vintage (available at Knit-Purl)–and can’t wait to play with some design ideas!

Another day to unwind…de-ravel…and knit the world away!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Deliriously Happy" (2)

  1. Nancy Marchant is a genious. Her book is a manual for the careful and expert, but it’s accessible to a total beginner, as I was when I picked it up. I sort of had to do a page a day and work throught the concept. It’s like an anatomy or mechanics lesson. Then a whole new world opened up! Very exciting.

    I plan one day to do brioche socks, but they will be THICK and SOFT and for cold winters in the house.

  2. […] show off the brioche Newsprint Cowl finished over the […]

Leave a Reply

