A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I’ve been itching to cast on new design ideas. After all, I love to surround myself with dreamy fiber, yarn, and fabric. So, my craft space (as hubby calls it the SuperStore) is littered with many inspiring rovings, batts, yarns in skeins/hanks/balls, fat quarters, quilting charm packs…awaiting to reach their potential.

My weakness? Simply put, I couldn’t resist this indescribably, gorgeous silky ShibuiKnits Staccato in pretty powder blue shade named Rain, pair with 50’s Kitchenplayful for naming a colorway, isn’t it!?

This yarn is to die for–the old adage you get what you pay for is certainly true here. The sheen from the silk makes the project stunning.

I love making functional and aesthetically pleasing articles. This clever design , by Sara Morris, (aka fyberduck) suits my preference for vintage/heirloom/heritage-style knits that I love in a blanket, or shawl, for a modern baby–useful and attractive, with beautiful details.

Though I followed the pattern exactly as written, the recipe may easily be modified to a substantial blanket to accompany the discerning baby through his or her early years.

I love this crisp pattern utilizing simple stitches to showcase the yarns and colors. It’s simple, quick, and elegant. It’s just enough to keep you interested, without needing constant reference to the pattern. Perfect for my appetite. What’s more? It will be very durable with all of the up coming washing it will endure. 😀 It’s a PLUS! After washing and blocking, the awesome piece is as specified in the diagram: 28″ by 29″, used 2.5 skeins of each colorway (or 955 yards.) See this post for blocking instruction. Personally, I prefer it longer than nearly a square.

You can’t go wrong with that one, perfect for lecture/concert/long car-ride (oh no…I don’t mean you as a driver!) knitting.

It took me about 9 hours of uninterrupted knitting (and I’m a decent, speed knitter.)

Check out both the yarns and pattern at one of the nicest stores in Portland, KNIT-PURL (online here.)


Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

