A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Animal Cracker Lover?


Do you simply toss those empty, plastic jars in garbage?  Hope not.   One man’s trash is another man’s treasure…especially through the eyes of a knitter, crocheter, felter, spinner,  seamstress, beader…craft junkie.  This is a photo of some of Jan’s stash.

Jan keeps her yarn in recycled plastic jars.   Each jar holds about ten balls of Noro or eight skeins of Malabrigo worsted yarns.  Living in the tropics, it’s an ideal/inexpensive solution.  They serve her well.  Jan slips a sheet of  snuggle fabric softener in each jar to keep her stash fresh.  What a terrific system to keep nesting moths and field mice out–and dry from tropical humidity in summer months. You would think Jan loves animal crackers, wouldn’t you? Hah, not exactly.  They are treats for her 10 dogs!  No kidding.  Apparently, the ingredients seem better than dog treats Jan finds locally.

I am a big fan of upcycleing/recycling/repurposing and have my eyes on those huge, hard canisters from Sam’s Club Pretzels.

To make a DIY yarn storage, use an Exacto knife to cut a hole in the top (sometimes several spaced apart) and insert rubber grommets you may get at Lowe’s for $.88.   The groove is just the right size to fit the thickness of the lid.  What do you use for storage?   Store-bought or recycled? 

Today was a productive day.  The key behind me having a productive day was taking control of what I was working on and made time for the most important tasks.  It didn’t come from just crossing things off my to-do list.   My productive day was the result of knowing that I worked on the really important things in my day, that I moved forward on an important project.  It’s the difference between being proactive, rather than reactive–it’s taking control.  A shift/change I’ve learned over past six weeks was to work with my new body clock.  I became more aware of when my modified peak and down times of the day are and note the things I could leave for those times.  For some routines that work against my natural tendency, I make just a small adjustment at a time.  What an impact this baby step has on my productivity!

Now, Eustacia, a faux moebius, is off the needle, washed, hand-shaped/blocked…and air drying.  I will share more on this spectacular knit after my return from Portland tomorrow night or the following day 😀

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Animal Cracker Lover?" (1)

  1. So throwing it into the spare room and quickly shutting the door doesn’t count as storage? Oh dear, I have a lot of work to do.

    We get the humidity so the plastic is smart. I just need someone else to buy the pretzels and bring me the container afterward.

Leave a Reply

