A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


…over the weekend! Really. I felt like it. It’s no difference than those who reached the peak of Mt. Everest. Getting to the 5″ mark of the excruciating scarf was liberating. There is no word that could really describe how it felt to reach the bind-off. Linen Stitch Scarf Finished at Last! I spent nearly an hour massaging and blocking the linen cloth to shape. Once dried, I will share some models shots as well as a pictorial/tutorial on how to block a woven knit/ Blocking Tips for Woven Scarf As you see, I have been able to sort out some of my computer woes for the time being–not optimal but is doable for the short-term. In a long run, revamping the wireless network and firewall is essential. It should be on top of the priority list…I am too busy playing Shuttling Colors with colors Shuttling Colors and sock yarns Shuttling Colors testing another non-traditional, clever sock pattern by Ms. Geeky/Mathematician. Shuttling Colors Best yarn suggested for the design is one with short-color breaks. Well…do you know how challenging it was to find that particular yarn? We have two yarn shops locally and one in Sisters, 20 minutes out of town. Shuttling Colors But, none has what I want or with an affordable price-tag? So I am forging ahead with what I;ve found Shuttling Colors Knowing it’s been proven, the curious me still wants to know what, why, and how! I love experiment, period! This superwash wool and nylon blend sock yarn is Partie from the Regia Design Line. Shuttling Colors

Cast-on 48 stitches for 7″ foot circumference, in ribbed cuff,
following a 5-stitch shuffle pattern

and this one, oh my gosh, I just discovered those gorgeous Luxury Sock Super Fine sock yarns by Loops and Threads
Luxury Sock Super Fine w/Cashmere

Cast -on 52 stitches for 7.5″ foot circumference, in sideways-garter cuff, following a 4-stitch shuffle pattern

Shuttling Colors
They are not only as SOFT as clouds, pleasure to knit with, and even durable–surviving a few frogging from start to half-finish. It is made up of 60% superwash fine merino, 10% cashmere, and 30% nylon. Without solicitation/hesitation, the 10-year-old who doesn’t care for any thing wooly shared his unbiased opinion “It’s really nice, Mum.” I’ll report back, in near future, how it feels and holds up after wear and wash 😀
Shuttling Colors
Un-daunting at all! Fun short-row project with no wrapping/unwrapping. Both are fun, exciting, and different. One I really want to wear, and have and have knit–I’m keen to see the shaping develop. Socks working up very quickly with this pattern and a very easy knit. However, I did rip out a few times (no fault of the pattern/design…all my own due to distraction)…the other, well I want to see how the shape develops and works.
Shuttling Colors
So with a fate of a test-knitter, it’s time to put down the knitting and write up feedback/comments to Ms. K, the number theorist…and maybe get some laundry/ironing done.
Fat Quarter Stash

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "I Climbed the Mountain" (2)

  1. Susan Skinner said:

    Beautiful photos, love that scarf have yarn and pattern in the line up and will now bring it forward.

    My computer also crashed recently, while I wait for a new one it is interesting to note how quiet I am inside and how much time was created for crafting/enjoying spring. Launched a whole new creative bent.

    Thanks for being so diligent getting your blog back in place, I love it.

  2. […] my step. Today was D- Day! It was time to put on that thinking cap, again, and back to working on shuffle color sock.  I unraveled the heels twenty times and more…hundreds upon hundreds of stitches–over […]

Leave a Reply

