A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Did You Vote Today?


Last call…three days left (closes May 18)

Mary Kay Davis, Sunnyvale CA

to cast your vote for Viewers’ Choice Award in Small Wonders Quilt Challenges (mentioned here a few weeks ago.)


You don’t have to be a quilter to vote.

There are so many fun and beautiful quilts to admire.

Tonye Belinda Phillips, Camp Sherman OR

I could’ve spent hours looking through each and every one of the stunning, creative art pieces.

Salmon Says by Dianne Scharf, Bend OR

To celebrate their hard work, five quilters will be awarded $100 each–four picked by a panel of judges and one by public audience.What a difficult choice! Although each quilt was great, I had to make a pick.

Unda da Sea by Kathy Davis, Escondida CA

I didn’t want to hurt someone’s feeling by not picking his/her beautiful quilt! This was not supposed to be so hard to do and making me feel guilt! So although I loved each and every quilt, my choice went to my intrepid and amazing friend. Kristin has been a Icon of inspiration for me since the day I met her.

Visit Stitching Hands at kristinshields.typepad.com

I’ve been seeing the pieced words springing up all over blogland.

QUILT! is just too playful–lights and darks make for good contrast. So, this intricate work of art is what I chose.

Over 150 shots of the challenge entries are viewable here

Trust me…photos taken with my cheapo, point-n-shoot camera don’t do these artistic quilts justice. I encourage you to stop by and see these art quilts in person if you may. It’s so worth your trip out to the library in Sisters.

Good luck to those who entered the contest. All entries are magnificent.

Jean Wells, Sisters OR

I hope you all had fun! Even though I voted for QUILT!, in my mind, you all have won!

Hail...rain...and sunshine...on the same afternoon!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Did You Vote Today?" (3)

  1. Well aren’t you sweet! There are some amazing quilts there. I can’t wait to see who the winners are at the reception on Friday!

    • handstitch said:

      I was looking for FRESH composition–a toss up between yours and Tonye–it was a tough choice, really, but am glad I cast my vote 😀 Anyway, it looks like I am staying in town as Shayna has her rehearsal run with the pianist on Friday in Redmond. Scott has to be in the valley by noon. I would love to go to the reception with you on Friday if it works for you, Kristin.

  2. […] sending anyone else into a panic. LOL! On Friday, Kristin and I’ll be heading to Sisters for the Small Wonders Quilt Challenges‘ reception and its winners announcement. What a treat-–I can hardly wait! Wishing you […]

Leave a Reply

